NZ FAM: Day 5


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Fox Glacier
May 20th 2010
Published: May 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Up at 6:45am and off towards Fox Glacier today! It started off crappy and cloudy out but got warm and sunny closer we got to Fox. Majority of us did the 4 hour hike through a rainforest up a million steps, to get to the glacier. Most people were exhausted but I showed true fitness as I was luvin every moment of it! I love hiking with a passion! Our guide warned us not to sweat too much cuz once we got out of the rainforest and onto the glacier our sweat will freeze so it was hard to maintain your body temperature. Our guide was a cute 20 year old who all the girls (and guys) loved so much! I think everyone was trying to impress him with our fitness so it was funny! When we got to the glacier I was most excited as we got these crampon things we had to put our boots in and walking sticks. This was something I figured I wouldn't do again so I savored every moment After the hike back through the rainforest, (we had to beat the sunset) we were all exhausted again. Our next accommodation was at a place called the Rainforest Retreat. Some had nice rooms, but Rachel and I got stuck in a crappy, tiny room like a hostel. All of the guy agents got up and surprised Murray and Kevin with a signed Canadian flag. We also gave them our tip (which Contiki covered for the agents) and Roots Canadian hoodies as a thank you from us at Contiki Canada! Our next surprise was a brilliant one by Murray as he then took us to the glacier hot pools which felt great after our hike today! Most people again were wiped out after today but I was rested up for once and I stayed out with a few of the girls who I hadn’t yet had a chance to socialize with. It was one of the girls birthdays so we stayed up till midnight and did shots for her birthday!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb