Marvellous Milford


Advertisement
Published: March 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

From Curio Bay we travelled to Te Anau for the night, passing on the way Invercargill and the gorgeous Lake Manapouri. From Te Anau I went to Milford Sound for a 2 hour fiord cruise. This time the weather gods were on my side and it was utterly fantastic. Again, I feel I cannot justly describe Milford Sound. It was quite simply majestic. Massive towers of rock rising from the sea bed having been carved out over a million years by six ice ages and many many glaciers. Technically this means it is not a "sound" at all, but is a fiord. Milford is just one of several fiords in the aptly named area of Fiordland, yet another World Heritage area.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Milford SoundMilford Sound
Milford Sound

With Mitre Peak on the right, almost 2000 m above sea level
Rudy, Me, Paul and RupertRudy, Me, Paul and Rupert
Rudy, Me, Paul and Rupert

Nice guys I met on the bus


27th March 2006

inspiration
Hi Liz, after seeing your great pictures, Amy and I have booked a month in New Zea Land. Don't kill to many brain cells with the local hooch.
27th March 2006

Last few NZ updates...............
...............wow! That all looks amazing Liz-Bee! You look like you're having a wonderful time and why not!? With all those fabulous views and stuff to do.......very jealous here! Glad NZ is living up to its reputation and you've made some lovely chums too! Love, Orla xxx P.S. To keep myself in the holiday mood, I've still got the stuff I brought home for you out on display so it feels like I'm not quite unpacked yet! Well......it's only been three or four weeks hasn't it?!?! What did you expect?!?!!?
27th March 2006

How are the sheep?
I am still a little concerned by the fate of the sheep with the shear marks on her neck! I can see you enjoying life as a rousie (the shearers on our farm always had the most divine, tanned bods!!). Looks like you are having a lot of fun - am so envious of you. I suppose time is flying by for you, but I can't believe how much you have done each time I check your blog. Take care and see you soon, Emma xx

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0763s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb