Back to Milford Sound


Advertisement
Published: August 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Back to Milford Sound… that was one of my main attractions to go back to New Zealand, it’s one of the places I really wanted to see also in the winter. And what’s better than a nice sunny day in winter? In winter there are more waterfalls flowing into the fiord, and of course the mountains are all snow-capped. I look in the pictures from my previous visit and see that it was a pretty overcast day - funny to come back in winter and not see even one cloud…
Since Marie is with me, we stop in all the places on the way as you do in your first visit. The mirror lakes, lake Gunn, the rapids of Marian creek. I remember most of the places but I still find them stunning. And I simply can’t get enough of the snow-capped mountains. I even take the cruise again.
This time we stay overnight at Milford. There’s a small backpacker here. There’s nothing much to do so we play Monopoly with Steve from Brisbane. Marie wins big time, me and Steve actually go bankrupt! At 11 we have to go to sleep - they save energy and they turn power of at 11PM. It feels funny…

On the way back in the morning, after another last look at the beautiful Mitre Peak, we stop in the divide and take a 3 hours hike to Key Summit. This walk is at the end of the Routeburn track that I was supposed to do in the summer but it didn’t work out. I know that the last bit is nothing but it still feels great to do something. Of course, the views are very different from the summer, and we can’t stop looking around and taking pictures.

From there it’s another 250km and we are in Queenstown - the capital of fun in New Zealand.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Morning - Mitre Peak in a different lightMorning - Mitre Peak in a different light
Morning - Mitre Peak in a different light

Just can't stop taking pictures


10th November 2010
A postcard...

hola
wow that is really neat one. i liked this post card. it defines that you heard your calling. in most cases people are too busy with materialism and cant hear their calling. enjoy ur future trips.............

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0894s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb