Scotland in Aotearoa...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Dunedin
August 6th 2006
Published: August 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A world record...A world record...A world record...

It was so difficult to take a photo that would show just how steep it really was...
Dunedin is meant to be more Scottish than Scotland, but seeing as I've never been to Scotland (yet..that is the next place I want to travel to!) I really could not tell!

The first day in this bustling student city I drove to the world's steepest street (go and look it up in the Guinness Book of Records) which is called Baldwin street. I decided to just go for it and drive up it, and the little beast made it...although I had to go down to first gear and boy was she a-roaring! Ian was really scared but I just found it fun, especially going down when Ian walked and I had some fun going down slowly at first then fully releasing the break towards the end...ahaha I wouldn't like to live at the houses at the top though!

Ian and I also went to the Cadbury Factory and had a look round the information section, reminicing on old TV adverts and wrappers. Cadbury chocolate is just not the same over here though, England beats New Zealand and Australia on that game by far...

My second day in Dunedin I spent walking around the city and spending a
It's red...It's red...It's red...

Kind of like home, but not quite...
good few hours in the public art gallery. I really loved one of the exhibitions which luckily had the curator doing a talk about it later in the afternoon. It was very inspiring and made me want to paint! Although a few weeks ago there was an old episode of Art Attack on the television which also inspired me, but to make marble and bubble artwork on A4 paper like you do in primary school! Give me a washing up bowl, Fairy Liquid and some dyes please...

Advertisement



15th August 2006

Time trial
Im too slow today! xx
15th August 2006

CANNOT WAIT
THOUGHT I WOULD BE THE FIRST TO REPLY I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT VICTORIA IN VANVUVER ISLAND IS MORE BRITISH THAN BRITAIN BUT I CANNOT WAIT TILL I SEE YOU DAD
15th August 2006

careful now !
Sounds an interesting place, careful with the driving though !!!! See you very soon now, cant wait, love you God Bless mum xxx
15th August 2006

Any danger!
Come home NOW!!!

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb