Goodbye Edinburgh - Oops Dunedin


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Dunedin
November 6th 2012
Published: November 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Taieri Gorge Railway CarriageTaieri Gorge Railway CarriageTaieri Gorge Railway Carriage

Look at the King of the carriage, ha ha
After leaving Christchurch we made our way down south in our little Nissan Sunny crib. We had a couple of stops for a brew. When we got to Dunedin (anyone who knows Mike ask him where we stopped as I got him so confused with the pronunciation it was hilarious - I can bring anyone down to my level, ha ha).



So we arrive in Dunedin and all I can say is has someone transported me to Scotland!!!!

I am sure I never walked into Dr Who’s tardis but I will tell you I must have cause I am in Scotland!



Anyway whilst asleep I had a dream that they called Dunedin after Dundee and Edinburgh well after googling it and researching (must be getting old) it appears that Dunedin town was designed and planned in Edinburgh and then the settlers came over and built Dunedin - and they called it after the Celtic name for Edinburgh. So I am not as thick as most of you out there think.



We have been on the Taieri Gorge Railway it is supposed to be one of the world’s great train trips. Well
Dramatic scenery or whatDramatic scenery or whatDramatic scenery or what

It does look like Scotland though!
all I can say is it is a spectacular scenic train trip. There is some really dramatic scenery - but to be honest it is just like SCOTLAND, ha ha



Since being in Scotland - sorry New Zealand it has been really cold and wet (see like Scotland, ha ha).



Well today we went horse racing as over here the Melbourne Cup is mega not unlike our Grand National with no fences. Anyway they have loads of races before the actual Melbourne Cup and then they televise the Melbourne Cup. The racing starts at around 10.30 and the Melbourne Cup is at 5pm. So we decide that we would get there around 1ish. Well you have never seen so many kiwi’s drunk and I mean drunk and that was at 1pm so you can imagine what state they were in when we left after the Melbourne Cup paralytic or what. I said to Mike if I was the police I would have breath testing outside the car park. Yes, you guessed it they had 7 policeman stopping every car and breath testing every driver and Mike registerd No Alcohol. Anyway to get back to the best bit we won $27.10c not bad I say not bad. Mind you we did not win anything on the Melbourne Cup race so I am a bit dissappointed.



We leave Dunedin (Edinburgh, to you and me) and are off to Queenstown which is the home of the first bungy jump - want to do one, lets see if I chicken out, ha ha.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 36; dbt: 0.1668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb