Update from sunny Dunedin


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Dunedin
January 29th 2008
Published: January 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My research proposal is almost finished! I have been working on it over the past week, and now I only need to make the last adjustments before I can send it in to my Maastricht supervisor. It is already 34 (!) pages long, but that’s mainly because of all the appendices with questionnaires etc. But still, it’s kind of long for a research proposal… Ah well, means less work for me later on when I am going to do the literature review for my Masters’ thesis. After I have made the final adjustments (hopefully tomorrow) I don’t really have a lot to do anymore until data collection (which starts in the beginning of March)… So I can just relax and enjoy the weather the coming weeks, which I really don’t mind!

Of course there was also time for some fun last week! I went out for dinner and drinks with Henry, another Masters student with an office in the same building, and we had a lot of fun. We even did some late-night sightseeing in Dunners, I saw the war monument and the penguin statue… it’s all about the penguins here! The picture of the penguin is a little vague (as I said, it was late-night, after drinks…), but you get the point 😊 And last Sunday I went on a 4-hour horse riding trek, which was amazing! It was great weather (again) and I was the only one on the trek, so it was just me and the guide (another student) riding through the most beautiful landscapes. I took some pictures, but it wasn’t very convenient taking pictures from the back of the horse, so I unfortunately didn’t get all of the sights. I am definitely planning to go back sometime, they also have beach rides, which should be very cool! And yesterday I had my first real kiwi “barbie” (barbecue) at Henry’s place, so there’s another thing I can cross off my list of things to do 😉 Hopefully the weather remains good this weekend, because the Rippon festival in Wanaka will be this Saturday! I was going to go there by bus, but I can now go by car with some people from Dunners who are also going, so that’s a lot more fun (it’s about 4 or 5 hours driving).

I did some more sight-seeing last week: Sam, Brett and I walked to Baldwin street, the steepest street in the world! Was pretty impressive, although the picture does not really show how steep it is. Sam and I also went to the botanical garden today, which is quite close to our flat, and it was very beautiful and peaceful. We have been going for a walk almost every night since I arrived, the evenings here are very nice and it’s a good exercise 😊 Sayaka, Brett and I also went to the beach again, which was a lot of fun, although I do have a big bruise on my knee now… a big wave dragged me along the sand :S Ah well, it’s all part of the fun I guess, the waves are just so cool!

It’s not going to be a very long blog this time, I’ll write more when I have more to say! I have also been planning the South Island trip with my mother and brother, who are already coming in less than three weeks! Time flies when you’re having fun…



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



29th January 2008

Lekker duidelijke foto van die boef :P Wanneer stel je me voor aan die shannon? (a) x
29th January 2008

benevelde penguin
lieve Annelies, die overdag vergezichten zijn prachtig, maar 's nachts... als dat een penguin is ben ik er ook een ;-) Volgens mij is het een monkey with a camera, dat standbeeld. Geniet ze, Mieke.
29th January 2008

Woooot... 34 pages for a research proposal?? That's crazy.... I had 10 with appendencies. xxx
29th January 2008

"sightseeing with henry" yeah right ;) love your posts! miss you too!!!! we moeten snel eens een keertje meeten op msn ofzo!!! heb veel te veel te vertellen! kusje
31st January 2008

hee annelies!! k heb t weer gelezen hoor. leuk blog en veel fotos. k ben ook is een keer in de botanische tuinen geweest, maar dan in utregg of zeist ofzo:-P kan ik trouwens nog je vorige blog lezen? was vergeten berichtje te zetten hahahaxD xx melina

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb