I'm still standing Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
October 8th 2011
Published: October 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Christchurch Botanical GardensChristchurch Botanical GardensChristchurch Botanical Gardens

Spring time in the Southern hemisphere
Ooops, seem to have a big gap here, again. I remember the hostel I was staying at, infact I think the only the 1 out of 2 which was still standing weren't very generous with their internet and that is one thing in life which should be free this day and age at least, but it wasn't here. Now that I have moved on and now in my second city of New Zealand Dunedin, where the internet is free, I am now playing catch up.

So back to Christchurch, well what's left of it, the whole city feels like there has been a mass exodus and no-one hangs around here very long. Except me, I have some crackpot idea to do something a little more adventurous and do some cycling, so I spent my days trawling around trying to find a second hand bike, which I did and of course it's not just about the bike there are all the bits and pieces. So I have picked myself up a real little beauty Discovery hybred bike, I have decided to call it George in support of our Rugby boys. St George, the english flag!

So once kitted out and got those awful cycle pants on I decided to book a bus ticket and put the bike on a bus and go to Dunedin, which I did on Monday 3rd and so I have stayed. What a fraud! Oh,before I did leave town I watched England claw back to beat Scotland, they kept us on tender hooks.

So here are the few pictures I have of poor ol' Christchurch.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Christchurch & the quakeChristchurch & the quake
Christchurch & the quake

No entry to the red zone
No mans landNo mans land
No mans land

Once a buzzy hot spot
Christchurch & the rugbyChristchurch & the rugby
Christchurch & the rugby

Out door viewing in Hagley park


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb