Christchurch, NZ


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
April 18th 2009
Published: April 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Another busy, busy day!! Today was Buddha's birthday and so there was a huge festival. We didn't stay long as I was freaking out about being in the huge crowd and the incense was starting to get to my mom, but it was interesting.

We headed out to the local craft market and shopped around for a bit and then discovered a young man from Australia entertaining on the sidewalk. He was very charismatic and interactive with the audience. We sat down and watched him for a while. He would do anything for a laugh, from holding two cones up to his chest and one somewhere else and walking up to strangers, to jumping into someone's car until they kicked him out, lying down on the sidewalk and becoming a "speed bump" for a mother with a child in a stroller...he was something else. I got many pictures of him and a few videos. The videos are too large to upload to this blog but if anyone wants a copy of them leave a comment with your email address please.

We got a day pass for the Tram which we loved. It was so convenient! It comes every 8 minutes and goes right by our B&B.

My mom's had quite a cough lately which has spread to her chest so she went to the doctor today. She got to ride in the proprietor's 1928 Studebaker (picture included). He took her on a mini-tour with another hotel guest and then took her to the doctor. The doctor gave her an inhaler which to me looks like a bong, but she denies that. When she pumps the inhaler the whole tube fills with this smoke which she sucks down. There is a picture of the "inhaler" included as well.

We rented the car today which is a gold Camry and I drove out of the lot. It's nice except for the whole steering wheel on the right thing. After a stressful first drive on the left, we stopped at a light and I turned to my mom and jokingly said, "Ugh. I need a drink" and then I added, "...when I'm not driving of course..." My mom was freaking out about the car so I ended up driving everywhere today. But she basically drove with her mouth. I told her maybe SHE'S the one who needs the drink... Some pedestrians stupidly ran RIGHT infront of us and my mom said, "boy if they knew who they'd just ran infront of they'd shit a brick".

We found a Kmart (WOO HOO!) and shopped for some things we needed for the rest of our trip. Afterwards we went to a pharmacy and bought TED hose for me for the plane ride back in case I have the same problem with the Edema.

We ate dinner at The Flying Burrito Brothers which is a Mexican restaurant (obviously). We ordered a pitcher of Mango Margaritas with our dinner (and FYI we walked to the restaurant. Driving on the left is hazardous ENOUGH, thank you very much).

Tomorrow (Sunday) we're going to the Christchurch Cathedral for a service and then we're heading out of Christchurch to another city. I'm not sure where yet. We'll be sad to leave this town!!

Ashley


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

cute little girlcute little girl
cute little girl

Ok I admit, I was a creeper here. I was pretending to get a picture of the Cathedral in the background so I could get a picture of this little girl. She was ADORABLE!
Mom's BongMom's Bong
Mom's Bong

or inhaler
Mango MargaritasMango Margaritas
Mango Margaritas

At The Flying Burrito Brothers
Baby PossumBaby Possum
Baby Possum

I bought this stuffed animal because it was the cutest I have ever seen.


18th April 2009

I want those videos so I can get a good laugh during my finals study breaks!!!
19th April 2009

Hey guys. It looks like you are having a great time. Thanks for posting this stuff. It is very entertaining.
19th April 2009

Nancy should save her "inhaler." It's probably worth something back in the states. juuuuusssttt kidding! But just in case it breaks, I've heard you can do the same thing with a potato. ....now I feel as awkward as Ashley when she wrote about the special adult stores. Oh well, I think we were just born without censor buttons... ;-D
20th April 2009

little girl
omg, she's so cute!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb