Christchurch Day 1


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
May 8th 2008
Published: May 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

LunchLunchLunch

I'm really suffering. Coke, Tiramisu and thats a 50" HDTV with a PS3 hooked up to it in the background
Landed in Auckland just fine, I was only able to sleep around 4 hours on the international flight, but I was feeling fine. I only had one hour to collect my baggage, pass though customs, then biosecurity, then take a bus to the domestic travel terminal, check my bags in, pass though domestic security and board my flight. Needless to say I was rushed. I was forced to budge the entire baggage check-in line of ~40 people then run to the wrong terminal -> run to the right terminal and budge another line of ~40 people in the security check. While this was happening they called last boarding for my flight. I RAN! Finally I made it to my plane. Needless to say that after 14 hours sitting on a plane and then running in a very humid airport I was sweating a lot. When flying I prefer the window seat because of the view and the convenience of resting my head on the bulkhead. So when I got to my row my and saw that my row-mates consisted of a blind grandma and her very young grandson I thought it would be best to find an empty row for me
StatuesStatuesStatues

These guys are all over the place. Very interesting to see all of them. When I've taken enough pictures I'll make a picture collection of them.
to terrorize. Arriving a Jame's place was interesting, these crazy NZ people drive on the wrong side of the street. I had a bountiful meal of Tiramisu and coke(cola) waiting for me. After I had refreshed myself I went downtown to Cathedral Square. This is a very touristy area of the city, but it sure is beautiful. Close by is the Art Center and Hagley Park. I've spent around 2.5 days downtown and its been a ton of fun. One thing that I really love is that people seem to retain their cultural identity when they come here. The food and clothing is a lot more authentic that what I've been able to find in Canada.
So far after 2 days I've taken over 600 pictures and only had the time to process pictures from the first day. I've uploaded a few. Comments are always appreciated.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

BirdsBirds
Birds

Most birds will let you get within a few feet of them before hopping away.
Statue paintingStatue painting
Statue painting

This picture looks like a painting
Best picture yetBest picture yet
Best picture yet

My crowing glory! A picture of an Asian tourist taking a picture with a Asian tourist taking a picture of an Asian tourist in the background!
STOPSTOP
STOP

Part of my STOP picture collection
Detail Detail
Detail

A number of the old buildings have very interesting sculptures on them
Water wheelWater wheel
Water wheel

Neat little park running though the middle of town. Most of the bridges in the town have these little parks surrounding them.
Little birdLittle bird
Little bird

Yep its a bird
ChimneyChimney
Chimney

Most of the old buildings have chimneys on them
Chicken walkerChicken walker
Chicken walker

The imperial army is here
Tall churchTall church
Tall church

They knew how to build those churches tall back in the day


11th May 2008

FROM MOM
Miss you.
16th May 2008

Wow!!
I love reading about your trip, and your photos are phenomenal. I'm so jealous! Keep posting!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb