New Zealand South Island 3


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
April 6th 2008
Published: April 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

DunedinDunedinDunedin

the steepest street in the world. its amazing!
Well hello and hasn't it been a short time since the last blog? I'm trying to sort them all out and get up to date before I leave for South Smerica on tuesday....ie tomorrow!!!! I'm very excited about it, if not a little anxious, as I am entering into unchartered waters big time. The blogs have also come very close together, as there has been an international problem with the downloading of pictures which has delayed to publishing of blogs. I've manged to finally find a way around it, despite my limited IT knowledge, so result!

One of the things I love about the Aussies and the Kiwis, is their sense of humour. I remember in Oz, I saw an advert on the side of a plumbers van which said "You dont have to sleep with that big drip anymore"! Fabulous. Over here, they like to keep cheery, despite the changeable weather. If its raining, it creates waterfalls which wouldnt otherwise have existed, for the travellers pleasure and makes the British feel at home! If its sunny, its warm and inviting and makes people smile, so everyones a winner!
I was also listening to the radio the other day and they had a competition for the strangest book title. Amongst the favourites were "I was whipped by the pygmy queen"; "How to write a how to write book"; but the winner was the wonderfully entitled self help book "If you want closure in your relationship, start with your legs". Brilliant and so very true.

So since I left Doubtful Sound, I then returned to Queenstown. I was intent on doing the river boarding, which entails taking on the rapids with a bodyboard and was to be my last main activity. I wanted to go with Serious Fun, as they seemed far more organised and safety conscious, with smaller groups, but they were not going that day, so had no choice but to go with Mad Dogs. I went, I paid and I hit a rock with my pelvis and groin after colliding with another girl first. I was in agony and had to be taken down the river with a guide as I could bearly move. Luckily the water was very cold which was the best thing for it, but I missed out on the fun of the river and the other water activities they lay on, such as swing rope, slides etc. Despite the risks involved, my bone of contention is that they send far too many people down simultaneously, saying that this is the safest way. Thats rubbish. Everyone kept banging into each other and they clearly directed me over the rapid and into the rock which they knew was there. I suffered with severe bruising around my pelvis and groin and now have a lump on my pelvis, which I hope will go, but may need to get this checked out later. They also annoyed me as they showed a total lack of concern for my welfare. The rapids are fun and quite easy to negotiate if you have common sense, but DO NOT GO WITH THIS COMPANY.
Irregardless of this incident, and the fact that Queenstown is sent in beautiful surroundings, I didnt see what all the fuss was about to be honest. It was a glorified 18-30s drinking town and there is very little else to amuse you here. I was very glad to leave.

Dunedin was the next stop and with my injury, was glad to be able to rest. One of my room mates was a hairdresser, and was weirdly just thinking of having my hair cut, when she mentioned it, so a quick shower and $10 later, i looked amazing!!! I stayed at On Top Backpackers, and was really quite a great hostel, with good facilities and well laid out, with a pool room and bar downstairs etc. I stayed 2 nights as usual. I managed a slow hobble around the place and as its got a very high student population,. there is more to do here than other places around NZ, but still very limited. The Fringe festival was on, but just started so was a bit slow and small. 2 nights was enough. I then went to Lake Tekapo, which is again beautiful and was going to stay 2 nights but decided last minute to stay one night only and go straight to Christchurch and how glad I was that I decided to do that! The place we stayed at was Lakefront Lodge, which was supposedly built especially for Magic passengers. Well Im not entirely sure what they had in mind, but it was the shittest, smallest, most basic hostel I've ever stayed in. the reception woman was so morose in expression and attitude, she made you feel depressed just to look at her. I'm not sure she has ever smiled in her life and most certainly is not suited to working with either people or animals...ever. She messed up several reservations and was going to charge one girl $20 for sleeping on the floor at one point. Later in the evening she entered into a tirade to the whole room about something or other, her voice being so high pitched and worked up that we couldnt make out what she was really saying, except to excite some stray dogs outside. Very strange. But the people were great and with 2 birthdays, we had a great night. The comment book was full of helpful suggestions come morning for the better running of the place........ahem.

So off to CC we went and what a lovely place this is. Really nice and comfortable feel to it and so very pretty. It's like a little england and as much as that sounds pointless, its actually very beautifully done. They've taken the best of what England offers in the summer and recreated it here amongst some stunning buildings and flora. I also found the best club to go to and some great bars, so it had everything. The best thing though was meeting up with Orla who I met in Lake Tekapo. When I returned from Akoroa (more of that in a mo), I bumped into her in the hostel and despite her having bought her ferry ticker to leave for the North island the next day, I told her in no uncertain terms that she was staying and staying for the whole weekend, as I was leaving on monday. She buckled under my persuasive charm and agreed and we've had an awesome time! Its been great because shes been the first person ive really connected with AND had the opportunity to spend time with as well, as usually the people ive met only stay for the one night, whereas ive been staying for 2 in each place. We made the effort to do some touristy stuff yesterday and managed the tram, which took all of 20 minutes but we saw CC and after essential food and beer, we then walked around the Botanic gardens and found a playground!! Good times!

So Akaroa. Lovely little seaside place and very pretty, but I left embittered I admit. I went to swim
Moeraki bouldersMoeraki bouldersMoeraki boulders

weirdly spherical. where did they come from? why? questions questions!
with the dolphins but they clearly had other ideas and refused point blank to be entertained by some stupid humans who wanted to get in the water with them and make funny noises down snorkels to get their attention, as they are quite short sighted. In fact its the only time Ive worn a wet suit and it stay dry! I was literally suited up and nowhere to go as we searched in vain for the elusive Hector dolphin. Yes, the scenery was lovely, but I wasnt there for that!! On our way back to the harbour we suddently caught sight of a dolphin was they flashed past the front fo the boat. great. We were offered a refund, but as a result of the 2 second flash of dolphin, we were only offered $40 and not the $80 if we hadnt. I thought this was very mean. Black Cat cruises. Even the hot chocolate did not dispel my disappointment. I will swim with dolphins goddam it, even if they have to be forced!!!! 😉 Even a mountain bike ride failed to cheer me as the back wheel was wonky and was like riding it with the brake on...I even had to peddle downhill it was that bad! ha!

And so here ends my NZ trip. Ive had a month of some of the most beautiful sights in the world; met some really lovely people and enjoyed some wicked fun. Could I live here? No. Would I come again? Yes, but not for this length of time. I truly feel as if I have done NZ and am quite sad to say that I think Ive suffered with an overload of beauty...oh another volcano, oh another crystal clear blue lake etc etc. Its sounds ungrateful in a way, and I dont take this scenery for granted, but actually you do get to do just that.

I'm waiting for my shuttle bus to take me and Orla to the airport for our 2.15pm flight to Auckland, where Jean will meet me for my last night in NZ and then I get my flight to Santiago tomorrow and then on to Easter island, where I've read that I will be met at the airport with a garland of flowers. How lovely is that? This is the next part of my trip and I'm not sure when I will be able to get on the internet to do another blog, but I will be keeping a hand written diary in the meantime. So, for now, adios. Keep in touch, as ever it's always good to hear from you and read your comments and emails. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb