Return To Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
September 6th 2007
Published: September 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

September 7th



We took a bus to Christchurch from Wanaka. The ride passed by Lake Tekapo and Mt.Cook, so we had some great scenery along the way. It was the amazing. I really wish that we could have taken that trip with a car so we could stop and get some pictures, because they probably would have been the best scenic pictures taken. There were places where the lake water was a bright blue, with surrounding ice capped mountains. It would have been great photo opportunities.

The bus ride was about 7 hours from Wanaka, and we got into a hostel as soon as we got here. We spent one night here about three or four weeks before, when we were traveling from Wellington to Dunedin. The city seems much different than what I remember. It is definitely a good city to settle down in for a while. It's the south islands largest city, so it should be the best bet for finding immediate work, because I really need a job. There is a hospitality agency that e-mailed me a while back that helps people find work. This morning I got a phone call from them, and I have arranged to go in tomorrow and register. Also, there are a lot of restaurants that I have noticed while walking around looking at the city. In the past, I have found it easy to walk around with resumes and personally apply, so that’s the plan.

I had an interesting lunch today. Cathedral Square (a small park like area in the center of the city) is a popular place for people to kind of, hang out. There's no grass, it's all cement with statues and such, so there are food carts that set up on them and serve food. Also, you have little souvenir shops, clothes shops, etc. There was a guy there juggling with five balls, and a guy who was exercising freedom of speech. You know, you got the guy playing the English flute over by the church lingering in the background. On a side note, I have been having this extreme obsession with Asian food since I have been in New Zealand. The Asian buffets over here are incredible. So anyway, I see a Chinese food stand and I decided that I wanted that. When we got our food we sat down for a minute and listened to the "public speaker". After about 30 seconds of listening to this guy I was hooked. The topic was religion, and there were people there going along with it, and instigating him, and he's just preaching and trying to make good points. I just sat there, ate my Chinese food (which was delicious by the way) and listened. Richard and I both agree that this could be something we do more while we're here.

An Evening Wedding - September 8th



I went to a job agency to find a job in Christchurch. They are still trying to find me a permanent job, but there is a lot of temporary work here. Some businesses need help for just a day or two. Last night they sent me to Fendalton, which is about an hour and a half walk from the hostel I am staying at. I know because I walked it which was horrible by the way. However, aside from the long painful walk, it was a really fun night. I was hired to help cater a Mexican wedding. A private catering service needed an extra hand I guess, so I figured it would be fun and
BruceBruceBruce

The Performer
I took the job.

The guests started to arrive just after I got there and I had to stand at the door and poor champagne. Throughout the night, I basically had to help with the food. It was quite a small wedding with 60 people total, but was a 4-course meal so there was much prep and little time. I helped to make salads, put finger foods onto platters, set up the buffet table, prepare the bread and butter, etc. When the main course started, I had to stand at the end of the buffet and carve pork for people. The whole night was a very fun experience. I talked to a lot of the guests and had some fun conversations. There was one guy who was from Prince Edward Island who came all the way just to attend the wedding. It was probably the best night of work that I have over here. The bride and groom were fabulous, everyone was extremely nice, and it was a night not to forget...

September 9th



Today I hooked up with some friends that I haven't seen in a while. When I was in Dunedin, the night of the Undie 500 (read "another side to Dunedin" if you don’t know what the Undie 500 is) I met some girls from Christchurch. We've kept in touch and today we hung out in Cathedral Square for a while. It was nice to see them, even though they're kind of crazy, and loud.

Earlier tonight I finally met up with Cherie again, who was a friend of mine in Wellington. We went out to a pub and had a couple beers. Tomorrow is Monday, so I will continue the job hunt, and contact Hospo.com to get paid for my wedding job. Yay...

New Job - September 12th



Alright, things have been a bit stressful for me in the last couple days over here. I have been working hard to acquire a job that I can work for a few months, and I have finally done it.

Hospo.com is a Job Agency that has been helping me find work. They helped me get the wedding catering position that I mentioned a few journal entries ago. The other day, Jon called me up and informed me that he had a job as a Steward on the north island,
TalentTalentTalent

Guy on a unicycle with someone on his shoulders
just north of Wellington. The job is on a military base. I will be working and living on the base. The accommodation and food is included. The pay rate will be better than any of the other jobs that I have had since being in New Zealand, so I'm quite excited for it. It will be a great experience I think. All I can do now is paint myself a picture of what it will be like, and I'm sure it will be nothing like what I imagine.

Tomorrow I am flying from Christchurch to Wellington, and then taking a bus to the town. I forget the name; I think its Wairorou or something. Richard and I will be going our separate ways, which is kind of a bummer. It has been a great friendship, but that's the way traveling works. Eventually, people leave. Maybe we'll meet up again in the future. I will update more on the military situation when I get settled...



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

PolePole
Pole

Not a Totum Pole but has similar significance


Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb