Starting work at YHA and Gills drinking problems!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
May 26th 2007
Published: May 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a few weeks away from the blog I've got more travel updates for you all!

The last entry was the Punakaiki weekend so heres all that follows. I started work at YHA NZ on the wednesday which was cool. Loads of things to do and the people were sound. I realised from then that I had alot more responsibility and actually had to try!
So settling down to work made life in Christchurch made it feel more real and that I wasnt just here for the holiday!
The weekend (12th May) started on Friday with a trip to cinema to watch Spiderman. I couldnt wait and had been bugging Gill all week to go! Anyway it sucked. Totally gutted.
Gill was on call and she had the chance to 'drive' one of the trainers trotters (pics to follow). She loved it, sitting on a cart, flying round the track at top speed. Its not a bad life being a vet!! She'll definitely be doing it again!
We chilled out that weekend, apart from a monster jog for 2 and a half hours on sunday. We went up hills, over tracks and through fields...and more hills...and more hills. I got mardy half way round cos I was so knackered and my calfs killed and Gill just laughed as I waddled on behind! That night Gill friend Amira came round and we were both shattered, I was struggling big time - watched Ash and Scotty's favourite film - Notting Hill, which was bosh! "Bernie".

The following week ran smoothly, we kept up the running and got more settled in at work...i.e got given shitloads of work, half of which I didnt have a clue! Had an awesome non-cheese pizza on the monday!
The friday (18th) we went to Addington races again, this time with Gills friends Amira and Emma. (I do have friends too - promise) We were hoping for more luck this time and again we all had winners in the first 3 races. Gill's alcohol tolerance was weakening after her 2nd white wine and we decided to put down all our winnings and more on the last race - and in he came 4th. This friday racing could become quite regular - its a real laugh and I bloody love winning!! By the end of the night, Gill was drunk and by the end of the car journey Gill was asleep!Textbook!

After getting settled at work I was realising that there could be alot of benefits from working at YHA....the weekend that followed was a prime example...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb