The Hunt Begins


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Central Otago » Wanaka
November 8th 2005
Published: November 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, after spending I few days in Christchurch I am back in Wanaka. The bus trip yesterday was horrible because the driver felt the need to talk about the hydroelectricity situation in New Zealand full stop. Very annoying, especially when all I wanted to do was get a nice nap in. The weather here in Wanaka is beautiful. It is very odd to me that it is November, with this kind of weather it should be May or June, not November--Christmas is going to be strange . . . Anyway, today I started the hunt for jobs. I have turned in about four resumes and I am waiting till later this afternoon to visit several more restaurants/bars that open around 4. It is difficult not being with the tour because I am on my own now, I have no friends. Staying at the hostels helps though because most everyone is friendly and willing to meet new people. Well, that's it for now--wish me luck!

Advertisement



7th November 2005

Hi Lisa
Good to hear from you Lisa. We will miss you at Christmas, but you won't miss our weather. It has been raining buckets the past few days. Actually, today has been dry, but cloudy and cold. Yuck! Our puppy, Max, is keeping us very busy (especially me since he thinks I am his mom). He's really cute, but very feisty at times. Sounds like you are having an exciting trip. Take care. Hope you find a good job. Love, Ann
8th November 2005

BRAVO!
LISA......Your trip so far has sounded so wonderful. Good luck with getting a job and of course meeting new friends...towards creating a life in your new city. Papa and I had a wonderful visit in Albuquerque....Pamela, Elliott and Brian kept the nine days very interesting with their activities. Especially enjoyed watching Elliott play soccer. He is very quick and fast...He plays defense most of the time....and is the kind that never gives up. He's eight and a half...and growing! Pamela is a very busy realtor.....Brian has his own law office now. Both are doing well. The weather was in the 70's....very nice. We were sad to leave...but also happy to be back home again. Keep up those very intereting blogs about your life.....We wish you well Lisa...Love you Nana and Papa
8th November 2005

no doubt
You'll find work and make lots of friends. This is your time. You have a lot of courage -- go girl!!! Pamela
8th November 2005

good luck
Good Luck on the job search! I know you will find something! I also understand the crazy weather you are talking about. I was at the beach this weekend and it we were laying out. It was 75 degrees in November! The south is like a whole new country in itself! Talk to you later!
8th November 2005

Good Luck!
You'll do just fine. Just keep at it!
9th November 2005

Sporty Lush!!!
I miss you sooo much. It is just not the same without you there. There is so much that has happened. Most recently...Peavy has been closed to our use for the rest of fall term and possible winter also. This happened on monday we have our FIRST league game on saturday...ahhh. Needless to say Mark is freaking out. Nicki B, and Zoe had birthday parties this weekend, AJ's Ramadan(sp?) is over as of sunday...what else...hmmm... We miss you tons, but I'm so glad to hear you are having such a good time. Keep living it up over there while you can. =) Go the south pacific experience...woo hoo... Miss you bunches, Love Trashy Lush xoxoxox

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb