The South Isle


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Central Otago » Wanaka
October 28th 2005
Published: October 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello all! I have been on the South Island of New Zealand since Sunday. We spent Sunday night in Nelson, quite a cute little town that is boasted as having the most sunny days in New Zealand. On Monday we moved on spending most of the day on a beach near Nelson and went to Westport for the evening. Tuesday we drove along the coast eventually stopping at Lake Mahinapua where we stayed at a small pub and had a fancy dress party. Franz Josef was the place to be on Wednesday and then yesterday we arrived in Wanaka where Laura and I decided to stay and relax for a day. We were supposed to have a free day in Franz Josef, but being that the town is really small, Laura and I came here and are planning on catching up with our bus today. The South Island is amazing. There isn't much around at all and the landscapes are beautiful. It is strange when you are standing on a beach and have views of snow capped mountains. I have recongnised a number of filming locations of Lord of the Rings just while watching the scenery from the bus windows, sad, but true. Franz Josef is known for the glacier that has the same name. You can do walks on the glacier, which I am saving for when people come to visit me 😊 I went Kayaking in Franz Josef on Wednesday evening, it was a sunset tour and it was so beautiful. Wanaka is a great little town that's main offer is great access to skiing and boarding and it is on a lake. I think that if I don't find some place I like better I might come back here. Tomorrow we move on to Queenstown which is a big tourist place, but is supposed to be beautiful and similar to Wanaka only bigger. I tried to figure out the picture situation today, but I am incredibly impaitent, so I will wait till Christchurch or Queenstown I think.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb