Abel Tasman


Advertisement
Published: May 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow what can I say, words & pictures just don't do it justice. I took a 2 day trip, kayaking a full day from Marahau to Bark Bay, staying in a hut overnight and then taking the 20km walk back to Marahau the following day.

I thought kayaking for a full day would kill me but I found it surprisingly ok, The weather was great, clear blue skys and our guide Eric was really informative about the landscape and wildlife and a really good laugh to go with it! He also got us kayaking in really close to thr coastline traversing our way through rocks and coral. In the afternoon we saw loads of 5 month old seals playing and showing off for us. At points I thought one was going to jump on our kayak for a cheeky ride!! lol Eric also picked us some mussels for ou dinner which were yum!

The walk the next day was just as beautiful. The track ran along the coastline as much as it could whilst the rest was in the forest on the national park. Sometimes walking along there were sheer drops into the forest (glad i didn't slip!!). it was so peaceful with just the sounds of the sea, birds and wind whistling through the trees. I ambled the day away taking lots of photos. Managed to get to Torrent Bay in time for low tide to get across and back to Marahau to catch my bus in good time.

So glad I did it, its a truely beautiful place!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb