Australia Part 2


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
May 31st 2012
Published: May 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

I have finished my time is australia now so will update you all on what happened in my final week and a half. The next stop down the coast was fraser island which is the worlds largest sand island. It is an amazing place. I did a tour where you went round in a big bus through tranks all over the island. I did 3 days there. The first day we went to a pretty cool lake where we relaxed in the sun and went for a dip before going on a walk through a section of rainforest. It is really weird to be walking through rainforest on sand. We ahd a really layed back fun group pf people which was ace. i got on particularly well with one korean guy Danny (i can't pronounce his korean name so we all called him danny) and spent most of my time with him. The second day was better. First we drove up the beach and looked at an old shipwreck then continued up to a place called champagne pools. These were bascially massive rock pools where you could sit and swim in where the waves frothed over the top creating a champagne effect. Really cool spot. The highlight of the day was Alice creek. It was a beautiful little stream where you could walk up a path beside it then float back down. Absolutely loved it. It was like a real life lazy river but 10 times as good. On the final day of the tour went to two more lakes. The first was best lake on the island situated in the middle of a sandblow. It was a small lake so I swan right intio the middle in the rain almost completely by myself. Such an amazing moment. At one point there was even a perfect littlerainbow over it. Unreal. The second lake was another big lake, nice but nothing unique. The next stop was in noose where I had a wicked day. in the morning I went and did the national park walk. The first half i followed the track and got some spectacular views but the second half I got down onto the shore and climbed over the rocks all the way onto the main beach for about 2 hours. Absolutely stunning. I even saw a wild Koala. In the evening I hired a kayak and paddled around the river enjoying the sunset towards the end. Another cool stop was the steve irwin australia zoo. It was really cool. They had some ace bird shows, crocodiles jumping out the water, tigers standing at full hight on the back legs and climbing trees. You also got to touch kangaroos and koalas. Wicked place. The next stop was Byron bay where i spent 3 days. I did a surf lesson there which was great fun despite my complete incompetence and also went with some guys from my room to an incredible seclude beach. We had this unbelieveable little cove with a cave, beautuiful and great waves just to the six of us. So good! Byron bay is a good night out too. I was out each night. There eas jelly wrestling the first night in our bar. Basically girls wrestling in a paddling pool of jelly. The girl from our room won which was quality. There was an ace bar called cheeky monkeys which didn't have a dance floor as much as a dance table. Really fun place. My final stop in australia was sydney. I spent my first day doing the touristy stuff. I went to harbour bridge, looked at the opera house, walked aound the boutanical gardens and went to the art museum (it was free). Sydney is a really nice city. In the afternoon I did a jet boat tou around sydney bay which was amazing. The boat went so quick and did some awseome spins sending huge sprays of water everywhere. We also saw loads of the bay which is really beautiful. For my second day in sydney I went to bondi beach and did the coastal walk to coogee. It took about 2 and a half hours and was really great. in the afternoon I got incredibly lucky. First I lent somebody on the street a pen and to thank me they gave me 20 dollars which was pretty nice. I have now vowed to always carry a pen. The on the way to the aussie rules game I wanted to go to I met two australain guys who had a spare ticket so I got that for free and they even gave me a crash course of the rules. The actual aussie rules match was great fun but so strange. It looks so scrapy but at the same time so tough. I am now an essondon bombers fan through and through after seeing them crush the sydney giants. The game was in the old oympic complex which was really smart. It had the biggest screen I had ever seen in a stadium. After the game was ace to because everyone was allowed on the pitch and everyone just punted aussie rule ball about. The best part was at the goal where folk would kick it into the gosl where there was a hugey phiscal melee to try and catch the ball. Great fun.



Anyway, my three weeks in Australia are now finished and it has been an awesome 3 weeks with so many great expeiences. All I can say now is bring on New Zealand!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb