Leaving Wellington


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
April 12th 2010
Published: April 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well well well…

It’s been a while since we’ve all been entertained by Laura and Sam’s travelling tales. Nevertheless, fortune favours the patient, and thus I will now provide you with some mutterings. By ‘I’, I refer of course to Sam.

The headline news is that we have decided to pitch our metaphorical tent somewhere other than New Zealand. Our new stomping ground will be the acclaimed city of Melbourne, and we shall head there armed with 1 year working visas.

Wellington has brought us mixed fortunes and after much consideration the plan is a simple one. We shall finish working at the end of April, travel around New Zealand for all of May, and then get to Melbourne for the start of June. Ferries and flights are booked, a flask has been purchased and the Swiss army knife has been cleaned (an activity that led to injury and this particular writer’s current typing torment).

We will have been in New Zealand for 6 months by the time we leave. Wellington is a pleasant city with beautiful surrounds, but our feet have started to itch and the umpire’s bell is tolling.

I have been fortunate enough to enjoy one of the best views in the city for the duration of my employment. I am looking at that view between pained keystrokes at present. I am sat on the 12th floor of a characterless office block, astride the curve of the bay, and in the distance I can see various mountain ranges. I can see the narrow straight which in turn leads to the Cook Straight. On Friday I was watching dolphins in the bay below from my desk. The clouds here make a remarkable habit of flying by at extraordinary speeds and at low altitude, much like the planes coming in to land at Wellington Airport that also pass by my fortunate vantage point. This view has been a saving grace. It reminds me everyday of why I am here, why we are here, and now, what is ahead of us.

The weather has started to turn; we are now well and truly in autumn. The nights close in early, and the mornings are cool and fresh (all this, but with no Christmas to look forward to). May will be a quiet time to travel, but with the fall of the leaves and snow on the mountains, it should provide a stunning backdrop to a wonderful adventure.

We will be on the ferry to the South Island on the 2nd May. Consequently, you shall hear from us again shortly.

Hope you are all well.

Sam and Laura



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



12th April 2010

Nice to have the blog back.
Hi Sam and Laura Thank you for the description of Wellington - the clouds and dolphins etc. I am sorry to say we get no such descriptions from Roz, photos or anything! We hope Oz goes well for you as well as the travel around NZ beforehand. Anne and Phil.
17th April 2010

Itchy feet
I can get you a powder for that.

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb