Those batteries didn't last long ....


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
January 30th 2007
Published: January 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I arrived in Wellington after a beautiful rail journey up the East Coast of the South Island from Christchurch followed by an equally scenic ferry ride across the Cook Strait to this, the capital, city of New Zealand.

I continue to have a great time. The only very feint blemishes have been: (1) The post office at Christchurch had no bags so my air mail stickers stuck to other items in my shoulder bag (2) My digital camera seems to use up batteries very quickly (I must make sure they're longlife). Nobody said it would be easy.

Trivia - my old flat mate Paul Larsen from Christchurch whom I met, with his partner Sara, for a very pleasant lunch in Christchurch, owns a car dealership in Invercargill which is the most southerly car dealership in the world. No kidding.

Actually the countryside around Christchurch and everywhere in these two islands seems so very beautiful.

More trivia -I've twice visited the same Sushi bar since I arrived. I actually prefer it outside of Japan because I like Wasabi as much as I like English mustard which is not at all - and they taste similar in my mouth. Also I like the conveyor belt. This morning I had a "full" breakfast which is one of the best I've ever had though I couldn't quite finish it, hence a light lunch.

This morning I went to "Te Papa" National Museum of New Zealand which I really enjoyed.
Hopefully the PC at this internet Cafe will now allow me to download a few photographs. Fingers crossed! (By the way as there is a limit of 50 on the No. of photos I can download I've deleted some of the earlier ones to make room)

Best regards - Glenn

PS - The National Museum also has a gallery (which I think may be the National Gallery of New Zealand) - it has a painting by Samuel (?) Peploe, one of the "Scottish Colourists" which I know my Mom will find mildly interesting. It's a still life with a very grand title like "the pretence of being..".







Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Embassy Theatre, Wellington.Embassy Theatre, Wellington.
Embassy Theatre, Wellington.

Where The "Lord of the Rings" had it's World Premiere


30th January 2007

you blogger
just to let you know i'm checking your adventures out - so keep it coming man and take care and peace and love to you
30th January 2007

Hello from Chesterfield
Fabulous trip, great blogging - these NZ views are stunning. Got your postcards thanks. We're all looking forward to the next installment, happy travelling.
31st January 2007

Poms bashed.......
Still looks as beautiful, in fact we may cancel our trip and just rely on you to supply the stunning views.(We wo't really) We may book the hotel you were at in Christchurch, as it sounds so good. By the way, I still can't get any of my pictures to download onto the blog I think I have set up, although the name of my blog refuses to come up on the blggers list as well. Think I am too stupid to work it. Keep enjoying NZ and keep up the goog blog. Alan R
1st February 2007

Thanks man
Mr Gray - thanks for the kind comments. Am having a great time. Hope you and yours are well. Peace and love - g
1st February 2007

Mr Rowell
Thanks for the encouraging, as ever, words. That is a good hotel in Christchurch. Keep trying with the downloads - connect the camera (it is a digital camera you're using - not your old box brownie?) to a USB port . Log into your Blog and look for "list entries" or a"add entr" then click on "manage photos" which should produce a box on screen. Enter title of photo and captions if you want/click on "browse" the look for the camera/device on "my computer. Should open up pictures if camera connected and on relay/downlaod and switched on. Click on chosen photo/click open/ then "new" on box where photo title is/WAIT for download to complete then SAVE and repeat process. I think your log was accepted as I read your first entry. Regards - g

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb