My First WWOOFing Adventure; Part Three


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Waikato » Tokoroa
October 29th 2010
Published: October 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My First WWOOFing Adventure; Part Three

October 28th

The Third Day

My morning was spent tending to the cosmetic needs of Julia Roberts. Julia Roberts being the name of a sail boat, of course. I gave her a good scrub and then an invigorating exfoliating treatment. (I sanded the bow) My fingers are now raw from sanding so much.

After lunch Eric, Pascal, and I all sat around the garage sorting through boxes and boxes of workshop materials and other odds and ends. We discussed Pascal’s favorite book “Into the Wind” for a while and how each of us identified with the stories protagonist in different ways. When I expressed my interest in reading the book because I’d only ever seen the movie, Pascal popped right into his room and brought out his copy of the book. He insisted I take it because he’s read it three times already.

Then this afternoon Pascal and I got to go kayaking on the lake. We took off for an island across from where we launched determined to explore it and find something amazing. Upon getting there we realized that the cliff side was so thick with brush that we didn’t really have a chance at getting past the narrow shore. So we walked along the shore until we found a cave. We crawled in as far as we could and then decided that was enough of that island and to go to the next one. On our way back to our boats I realized that the funny little things that looked like potatoes floating in the water were actually pumas stones. (A volcanic rock so there must have been a volcano nearby!) I remember my mom having one of these stones in the bathroom when I was a kid and being fascinated with the “magic rock that could float”. So I obviously stuffed my pocket with a handful of these “magic floating rocks” before heading off. I figure they’ll be a good souvenir later on.

The next couple of islands we came to were farther away and took us a little ways down a river. Pascal hoped out of his kayak and trekked through the island as I paddled around it. He’s an aspiring photographer and took my camera to take some pictures. (He left his camera at the house because it was too big, fancy, and expensive to stuff in a dry bad and bring along on a water-bound adventure.) As I paddled around the island I found a little cove with some amazing birds! They looked just like swans but were black. Black swans? I think there is a such thing. I remember singing a song about a black swan in choir once. Well, they were beautiful! The next island after that was the most fun to explore because we found roads on it! (But they didn’t really lead anywhere because they were primarily used of logging.) The afternoon sun was making everything all pretty and golden through the trees and we walked around until we decided food would be a good idea. Getting back took a while because our exploring had taken us quite a ways down the river but the entire way back we fallowed more of these black swans. Seven of them just gliding along in front of us. I feel like seven black swans must be some kind of an omen or something. It’s just too poetic sounding not to be. I hope it’s a good one… When we finally got back and docked the boats, Eric came driving down in his van to pick us up. He was waving a chocolate bar out the window and grinning. Pascal said, “Wow, he knows exactly what is good after a trip like that!” He was right. Amazing New Zealand chocolate has never been so tasty!

Then Eric let us cook dinner tonight. Thankfully we were heavily chaperoned because I’ve never made pumpkin soup before. It was great as expected because everything Eric makes (well, we technically made it but Eric was looking over our shoulder and coaching us the entire time.) is awesome.

The Top 10 Ways to Know Your Host is the Greatest Hippie Chef in New Zealand

1. You’ve searched the entire kitchen and can’t find the garbage can anywhere but the compost bin practically has its own pedestal.
2. He makes his own hummus and the chick peas aren’t from a can.
3. He makes his own ice cream then adds a dash of homemade cherry jam and shaved chocolate on top.
4. There are more varieties of edible seeds in mason jars on the shelves than you knew existed.
5. You have to go outside to the garden to prepare the salad.
6. You learn that ginger doesn’t naturally come powdered.
7. You drink herbal tea more than water.
8. There is no microwave but you haven’t even noticed.
9. There’s a side of homemade bread at every meal.
10. Everything is organic. Including the dish detergent.


Advertisement



29th October 2010

WWOOF = Amazing
Puc, I'm loving the passion and delight I'm feeling behind each of these WWOOF entries. Also, you write with generous dollops of humor, which I adore.
29th October 2010

Thanks Twinkle! I love the phrase “generous dollops of humor”! haha :)
29th October 2010

Black Swans
You had a lovely adventure today. I am playing a blog scavenger hunt, created by sharkbytes at myqualityday.blogspot.com , and I was looking for black swans which you have in your post. Thank you.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb