My First WWOOFing Adventure; Part One


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Waikato » Tokoroa
October 29th 2010
Published: October 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My First WWOOFing Adventure; Part One

October 26th

The first Day

“WWOOF” = World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms

So basically WWOOF is an organization that connects financially disadvantaged travelers with a keen sense of adventure (like me!) with people all over any given country who have farms or small pieces of property that they could use some help maintaining. The travelers get free meals and accommodations, the locals get a little free labor, and a genuine cultural exchange is shared by all. Everybody wins! Plus as a traveler, you get a more real and authentic travel experience, getting to live with and know the natives on a more personal level. And as far as my very limited experience so far has shown, the hosts seem pretty enthusiastic to show you around the area and proud to share their culture with you.

Okay so maybe you’re thinking the same thing I was. Is this WWOOFing thing safe? My self-preservational instincts are pretty good so when I realized the couple that was going to be hosted by was actually a single man and the other WWOOF-traveler wasn’t showing up until a day or two later, I had my concerns. I carefully mulled over the pros and cons and thought through several worst-case-scenario type situations and even packed my pepper spray (I think that may be illegal here so shhh, don’t tell!) But I decided to go anyway based on a few encouraging email exchanges and the knowledge that a return bus ticket was a possibility if I really needed it. (This caution might seem a little excessive because WWOOF is a pretty reputable organization, but I can be very distrusting at times and a single woman traveling on her own can never be too safe!)

I’ve heard that you form a first impression of somebody within seconds of meeting them and although I’d like to think that I give people a few go’s before casting my final judgment of them in stone forever, there is probably something to this. That gut-instinct kicks in right away and when you don’t have much time to acclimate yourself and assess your personal safety you really have to rely on it. Well, the bus stopped, I got off, grabbed my backpack, and did get in the car with this guy. So I guess I passed. He had trustworthy eyes. He also had a beautiful German Shepherd. (I know, the stranger had a cute cuddly puppy and candy too right?) But the dog seemed well behaved and trustworthy as well. I don’t know but I feel like a real creeper would have some kind of a wild-eyed, aggressive hound not a mild mannered family pooch.

We picked up some paint for the impending home improvement project I’d be working on and I was even asked for my input. Not having seen the exact color of the house I politely agreed with the appropriateness of just about every color combination.

After getting to Eric’s (that’s his name, by the way) place in Mangakino (south of Hamilton and a wee bit higher in altitude) and being shown around a bit I got to work sanding the window frames. Painting them was peaceful with Eric whistling along to some jazz music in the background. A few neighborhood children came over to see who the new face was and chattered away at me from under the ladder I was standing on. Images of me getting knocked over and splattering brown paint all over the van and a herd of six year olds flashed through my head. I didn’t though. I have footing like a donkey in the Grand Canyon. Eric finally made me come in as the sun started going down and we made dinner.

The most AMAZING vegetarian food I’ve EVER eaten! (Twinkle and Zip, you would have died with delight!) It was some kind of tortellini with fresh herbs and tomatoes in an incredible sauce (which had honey and cinnamon in it by the way! Who would-a thunk?) And the salad had toasted seeds and nuts in it! Oober health food has never been this amazing, I swear! God, I could eat like this every day! I’d be so fit and I wouldn’t even miss ice cream. Okay, that’s a lie. I’d rather lose an arm than forever live without ice cream.
The evening rolled along and we took the dog for a walk and saw a few more sights. Then a nice hot cup of chi and some acoustic guitar music. (Did I mention Eric is a retired art therapist and professional musician?) Yup, I’d say I made a good call with this one.

Interesting thought: My mom did this sort of thing 30 or so years ago… When my mom was about my age she too traveled around New Zealand working on different people’s farms along the way. It’s interesting to think of this as a thing we now share. We occasionally have a freakishly large about of stuff in common! So, Mamma does any of this sound familiar to you? I’m thinking of you a lot and wondering how our similarly aged selves would have gotten along…






Advertisement



29th October 2010

Vegetarian yum yums
1. You gave us a blog shout-out! :D 2. That does sounds absolutely excellent. Perhaps you'll cook us up some veggie NZ deliciousness when you get back?
29th October 2010

Yes! I can’t wait to make you guys all the vegetarian yumminess when I get back!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb