Tongariro National Park


Advertisement
Published: November 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Death hikeDeath hikeDeath hike

When i wanted to go home.
Day 1: Friday we literally just climbed the mountain of death. If hell freezes over, that is what I hiked. Yet this is quoted to be “the best day hike in the world.” We ascended a distance of 19K straight up a cliff in 5 hours. With increasing elevation, wind speeds got up to 35 km/hr. That’s 20 mi/hr wind in the middle of blizzarding snow, fog, and clouds. My backpack strap kept slapping me in the face from the wind but I didn’t do anything about it because that involved moving my hands which was impossible to do at the time since they were immobile from the below freezing temperatures. So I continually let myself get wacked. I grew light headed and needed food and water badly. I kept ignoring it because my hands were trapped in mittens and freeing them from their cage risked frostbite. It was the most miserable time I have probably ever experienced. Every time I looked up, there were more hills to climb in worse condition than the last. Once we got to the summit, nobody stayed to glorify our amazing victory because it was too cold and uncomfortable to gain any pleasure from the
SnowSnowSnow

Might as well be VT
experience. Nobody stayed to take pictures because it was too foggy to see anything. My legs were wet and numb and I thought I was going to die. Suicide was reasonable. Going down the last 6K was the longest 6K in the world. The trail never ended. I made it out alive though. I ate my lunch and immediately passed out. Now that the hellish torture is over, I feel accomplished. But that was literally the craziest hike I have ever done in my life and will ever do. I do not plan on doing that ever again. I'd also like to add that this mountain erupted 2 days after our hike. Give me Australia and the surfer dudes I miss so much.

Day 2: Saturday was not as memorable. We went to hydropower plant and thermal bath. The thermal baths were nice and relaxing since we got to sit in a hot tub the size of a pool and warm up for the first time in what felt like a year. All day it poured. Somehow we managed to squeeze 6 girls in a double and watch another romantic comedy, “The Sweetest Thing” before bed. I woke up
PosingPosingPosing

These are fake smiles.
at 4 am to the craziest thunder storm. I thought the cabin was going to flood. The rain just keeps coming. Get me home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Movie nightsMovie nights
Movie nights

We fit 6 girls on bottom.
Our hutsOur huts
Our huts

With one outlet. Choose your sacrifice.
MountainMountain
Mountain

Erupting steam


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb