On top of the world...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
January 26th 2009
Published: January 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Here in NZ it's Auckland Anniversary weekend so a good excuse to hit the road (or the sky) and do something a little bit crazy so we (Becky, her friend - Amanda and I) headed off down to Rotorua and then onto Taupo for a bit of adventure. A friend of mine told me that you should do something every day that scares you so, taking his advice, I got kitted up in a lovely boiler suit, goggles and leather flying hat and took to the skies above Taupo. After flying up to 15,000ft it was time to disembark!! The first minute was freefall - impossible to describe but a totally amazing feeling. I had the biggest grin on my face the whole time, well, until I decided that my teeth were too dry to grin any more! Once the chute had been pulled we soared for around 10 minutes before cruising down to the ground for an elegant landing - still carrying a huge grin as you'll see in the pics...

I'll willingly volunteer to accompany anyone who fancies having a go - this really is an experience not to be missed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb