Kia Ora from Smelly Rotorua


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
June 1st 2005
Published: June 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

After one night in the party capital, Wellington, we headed up to the National Park to walk the famous Tongariro Crossing (that's Mount Doom, Mordor to all you LOTR fans). The eight hour walk up and around volcanoes was amazing but nearly killed me. I made lots of new friends though as I couldn't keep up with the people we started walking with and met more and more people as I dropped further and further back.

The next day we headed up to Auckland to meet Karl's parents, Aunt, Uncle and cousin who are now here on holiday. They haven't had time to feel jetlagged as we've dragged them round sightseeing Auckland, the Bay of Islands and now Rotorua. After a mud bath at the stinky hot springs this morning we took Victoria zorbing. If you don't know what zorbing is, imagine being inside a giant beach ball full of water and rolling down a hill. Apparently it's the closest you can get to spending time in a washing machine. Yes - I screamed quite loudly. I've got the bug for all this high octane stuff now and have booked to go skydiving in Lake Taupo tomorrow. Keep your fingers crossed the weather is OK. Don't worry Mum & Dad - I'll call you as soon as I'm back on terra firma.

Everyone keeps mistaking us for being part of the Barmy Army - I've no idea why! The first Lions game is here in Rotorua on Saturday and they're setting up a base camp over the road.

Tonight we're all going to a Maori Village to watch (and apparently take part in?) a traditional show and hangi dinner. Brian is rehearsing singing Oaklahoma.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



11th June 2005

Lost contact??
Hi Emma and Karl, I have got an email from you but I think emails to you are still failing :-( It now seems like forever since you went! Glad you've been sky diving now- I've always wanted to do it! Missing you both lots!!! Sarahxxx - Sarah and Steve

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb