White Water Rafting (in the Ejection Seat!)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
May 9th 2012
Published: May 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It was finally time for my first taste of what New Zealand is famous for: Adventure sports. Todays activity was to be White Water Rafting. Having been kitted up with helmits, wetsuits, windvests and life jackets we made our way down to the river. One of our instructors explained that until recently this river was considered a Tapu (sacred place) by the Maori people and was therefore out of bounds. They considered it sacred because it is the resting place for many tribe members. It was only after their bones were excivated a few years ago that the river was allowed to be used. Although he did add, cheerfully, that the bones of one cheif still rest in the seven metre water-fall, 'so its one giant grave!'.

The guy explained that their rafting company was the only one that to approach the local Maori to0 mask permission to use the river for a commercial activity. And so it was in this spirit that he asked usd to turn to the river while he said a prayer to the river spirit, asking for a safe crossing. Oh i do loves a bit of nature worshipping!

His next question was: 'wopuld anyone like to sit in the 'Adrenlian Seat?' My hand shot in the air. I wanted my money worth of fear and so took my seat at the back of the raft next to on of our instructors.

After the usual boring safety business was covered we were off! It was great fun bouncing down the gental rapids. Then we hit the first big one, though only two and a half metres. Unfortunately i forgot the bit about tucking my chin in and badly hurt my neck as my head got thrown back on the way down. Mental to note made to tuck chin in when we got to the seven metre one.

More giggle and bumps and then we were there. The seven metre, grade five waterfall. A shout of 'get down' (the command to get down in the raft as we stop paddling to go over) and the next thing I know I am submerged in water fighting to get air. My kicking legs and flailing arms have no effect. The water is winning. I start to panic. My mind races to what we were to9ld in the breifing about not attempting to swim because it will not work, 'curl into a ball and the water will carry you out'. As soon as i do this it works and I am not longer in water that wants to drown me but friendly stuff i recognise. It take me a while to spot the raft but by this point I am calm and giggling. Laughter and cheers admit from the raft and I'm heaved on by David whose grinning at the sight of his half drowned best friend!

We carry on down stream, along more gental waterfalls and the laughs continue as David is told off for his 'pathetic paddeling' and the instructor (deciding one near-death expirence was not enough) pushes me into the water. David, Jenna and I got to jump out and swim down one of the rapids neaer the end. Then David provided us with one last bit of entertainment when the raft drifted into some low hanging rock, low enough that we all had to duck our heads. Joking, the instructor shouted 'stand up' and David did!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb