Endless Walk to Endless Summer


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Raglan
March 14th 2008
Published: April 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Endless Summer is a 1964 film about surfers searching the coasts for the perfect wave. When I found out that there was footage of this film shot in Manu Bay, just west of Raglan I just had to go! Come on i had that poster in my room freshman year! Since we don't have classes Friday, all 8 of us headed out to Raglan for the day to get some sun and check out the black sand beaches. The bus from Hamilton drops you right off in "downtown" Raglan. Little did we know that we would have to walk a good hour just to get to the beach. Rookie mistake, right? After we finally got there all of us were famished and there was not a food store in sight. Tina went into a surf shop to see if they sold any chips or anything. No luck, but the owner offered to sell her his lunch. After laying on the beach for an hour we could see the clouds come in and hear our stomachs growling. Well, I could at least. So we started the hour walk back to town. We stopped at the first Fish & Chips place we saw
Charming Little ShopCharming Little ShopCharming Little Shop

no food though.
and induldged in the greasy food wrapped in newspaper. The black sand beaches of Raglan were gorgeous and the water was so clear. I hope I will have the chance to get back there but I am definately staying at a hostel that will drop me off and pick me up. I don't think I could do that walk ever again, especially on an empty stomach.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Raglan, NZRaglan, NZ
Raglan, NZ

Ashleigh Martinez
Raglan, NZRaglan, NZ
Raglan, NZ

Ashleigh Martinez


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb