High Andes Epiblogue..2009


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Northland » Pukenui
May 6th 2009
Published: May 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Boggy River CrossingBoggy River CrossingBoggy River Crossing

Tiny negotiating the bog
This is the Epiblog of our 2009 High Andes Adventure, as I said last year, is the end ?? or just another begining ?? I know that this adventure changes the riders perspective on South American travel.
We had an uneventful adventure as far as riding mishaps were concerned, and would like you to consider joining us in 2010.
I took our daughter, Geraldine, and she rode many days with me on the KLR, we both very much enjoyed the bonding experience.

I am working on the details for the 2010 Adventure, as we are going to run it slightly different to the last two years.
We will sort of run it backwards, by crossing back into Chile from Argentina via the San Francisco Pass (the highest pass in the Andes) and make a run up the Chilean coast to Arica. Crossing into Peru here and on up to Machu Picchu.
Returning down to Puno and La Paz, with our visit to Cusco and two days in La Paz, most riders will get a taste of the altitude and a chance to get a bit used to it before the challenges of the South Western corner of Bolivia, where we
Rumpty bridgeRumpty bridgeRumpty bridge

We all made it
ride in excess of 5000 meters and no roads.
To keep that in perspective, when I arrived into Auckland and caught a flight to Kaitaia, the pilot informed us that we would be cruising at an altitude of 15,00ft. When I told him I have just been riding my motorbike at this altitude, he just looked blankly at me...but that’s what our adventure gives you... ‘a bit more perspective’.
We will still be doing all the highlights of The High Andes Adventure, just a slightly different way.

With just over 9 months before we have to ship our bikes to Valparaiso, we are seeking confirmation of your interest in this adventure and a space for your motorcycle in the container.

The Adventure will start in Vina del Mar, Chile, on Monday 8th March. 2010 and finish back there on Thursday 15th April.
The current Adventure cost is NZ$9,980, plus NZ$2000 return shipping, plus your return air fare to Santiago.
The cost for a pillion/truck passenger is NZ $8000.
A NZ$500 deposit will confirm your participation.
This can be a direct credit to; Rosco’s Rocky Road A/C
Or we are happy to receive your personal cheque. Please post to;
RockyRockyRocky

Rocky taking time out

Rosco’s Rocky Road Adventures
RD 1
Awanui 0486
Far North.
New Zealand
Ph. 09 406 8807
We are looking forward to sharing our Adventure with you.

Hasta Pronto (until Soon),
Rosco and Gerardo

Here is some feed back from the adventurers......

By ‘Laydown Leo’
After a lower back operation in 2008, I had been wondering if I should be going on Rosco's Rocky Road Adventure.
"Hell" I'm pleased I did. What an adventure, a truly amazing experience. There were so many highlights. One very special to me was the ride from La Paz up into the high Andes. Those mountains were breath taking, brought a tear to my eye. Macha Picchu and the Colca Canyon were fascinating, as were so many of the other interesting places we travelled through.
I loved Peru. They are friendly people and great horticulturists. I learnt heaps about the different cultures.
Rosco and Gerardo, you certainly came up trumps in organizing such an awesome (almost) trouble free adventure. A Great experience with great people. Loved it all.
.
Cheers Rosco, & thanks for taking us on a great journey, Leo
P.S. Saving my pennies for another trip.

From Tigger
The tour
Leo and TinyLeo and TinyLeo and Tiny

Taking time out !
was amazing, due the fact that Rosco and Gerardo worked together so effortlessly. For some of us, we struggled with the directions into town, but we were happy to be lead, as Rosco seemed to know where he was going.
Nothing was ever too much trouble for either one of them. We had great accommodation. I went not knowing what to expect, even though I had seen some photos, being there far outweighed these a million to one. The thing we found hard, was trying to get the scenery in photos with context. Every day, I found myself struggling with the sights I had seen and everyday there was always something more amazing than the day before.
What an amazing group of guys to spend 6 weeks together with. I enjoyed the meals at the end of the days with a nice glass or two of red wine (thanks- boys I learnt a lot more about wine) It was great that we had a couple of days in some towns, as they were just there when it seemed that we needed a day in lieu. I have been filling all my friends in on the awesome time I spent
BrianBrianBrian

At the Rock tree
with my dad, and this great bunch of guys.
I am going to get a couple of photos blown up and put in my lounge so I can see them every day. Just have to choose which ones now. Oh the choices......
Tigger
Over and out

From ‘Mad Max Murray’
Hey Rosco
How you doin? Hope you had a good flight back.
I have Just about settled back into being a New Zealander again.
I am writing to rave on about an incredible, pretty well indescribable journey you gave us.
Thank you for an immense effort, both you and Gerardo.
It is a time I will remember forever. I would never have believed the Andes could provide such amazing, contrasting scenery. And the people - everything - mind blowin stuff!
Somehow you managed to give us completely new scenery every day for all the 37 days, that is what set this trip apart from anything else!
Then, of course, of course, a great bunch of guys who got along so well. The evening drinks and meals were special times, chewing over the day's actions. You must have been pleased with the whole show.
Now - can I make
Its harder than it looksIts harder than it looksIts harder than it looks

Is that hard work or what? David and Rip
a suggestion? A little more professionalism in the Spanish language would be good. I noticed many times in both blog and day sheets, place names spelled wrong. Being the leader, I do think you need to learn a lot more Spanish ( you never know when Gerardo may not be near!) Not possible to do night school, but there must be some good DVDs available. Fair comment?
Regards, Murray

Hi Murray, thanks for the feedback.
Yes we were pretty chuffed with the whole adventure, the dynamics of the group, the riding and altitude challenges and the fact that you bought the truck home on the original tyres was a bonus, thank you.
Your comments about my Spanish are well founded, I guess I need to move on from TV’s ‘Dora the Explorer’ program.....but seriously, I have enough trouble with my spelling in English, I never shone in this as a school subject, however, I have published (with help) 35 blogs, containing 50,840 words, mostly done at the end of a long day, so there are bound to be a few mistakes, sorry.
If you get the time, please send me the day sheet numbers that are incorrect as I
Luna ScapeLuna ScapeLuna Scape

David having fun
am currently re doing these for next year.
Un abrazo, Rosco

From David Better Bones....

Hi everyone,
How are you all settling back to home life. Its been great to be back with my family as I'm sure it is for everybody.
However it is taking some adjustment for me so far:

• Whenever I reply "of course of course" people look at me blankly
• Bonnie can't understand why I've nicknamed our 10 month old baby "Brian" because she's teething and waking us at ungodly hours in the morning
• Nobody on Auckland roads appreciates the driving skills I picked up in La Paz
• I was waiting for somebody to come and put petrol in my car for 10 minutes at the Shell station today!!
• I couldn't get a "Grande Cristal or Quillmes cervaza" down at the Viaduct Basin bars either?
• People think telling them they have yama breath is a complement
• Bonnie doesn't understand when I ask "Do you feel like some culture tonight?"
• When something goes wrong I blame "Bolivia" or the "altitude"
• So far I've been able to catch myself before saying "Good morning Murray" to Bonnie
More waterMore waterMore water

A deep river crossing
when I wake up in the morning
• My bank manager is just not as understanding as my "personal travel banker" was
• There is no freshly squeezed pineapple juice waiting when I get up for breakfast
• Where have my day sheets gone?
• I mean it when people ask how was your trip? and I reply "Do you have a day to go over the highlights"!

It'll take time, but I will adjust to being back. I think it is fair to say I will always see things a little differently than before.
I have 4 giga bites of digital memories that will not let me forget just what a terrific experience we all had. In a couple of weeks I will have time to make some copies of photos if anyone wants. Attached are a few images.

Thanks to everyone for being such great travel mates. And a big thanks to Rosco and Gerardo for putting together such an absolutely outstanding odyssey that I feel very lucky to have been a part of.
So until the next time, "Dos cervazas, Amigos"

Cheers, David (Better Bones)
Ps; Since this was written, David 'Lucky Bones' has
Salt HotelSalt HotelSalt Hotel

On the Uyuni Salar
just won a brand new Triumph Scrambler Motorcycle, just by entering a draw when he subscribed to the Kiwi Rider Magazine, given to him by his friend Micheal Hood, what a good mate!!. But will it handle the Bolivian Altaplano ?? maybe we will see it in the Patagonia ??Maybe there will be a good deal on a used KLR on Trade Me soon.
Good on ya David. Cheers, Rosco

Thoughts from Ripper.....
Hi Guys,
Been home 10 days now, well the body anyway, the 'soul' is struggling to comprehend the enormity of the adventure we've just completed.

To pick a highlight - I can't, but will say the whole trip was the highlight!
Doing this trip by motorcycle was an awesome way of exploring new countries.

To Rosco and Gerardo, thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to travel and experience a new country and culture, I have so many wonderful photos, memories and experiences that I will never forget, so thanks again, and I will see you in Nov 2010??

To Tiny, my 'taller' brother - thanks for being an excellent roommate and fellow bikie.

To Dave 'Broken Bones' Lees, Leo
Salt HotelSalt HotelSalt Hotel

On the Salar
'Laydown’ Harris, Brian 'Bob the Builder, knock on doors, get out of bloody bed' Hill, what a brilliant bunch of guys, the only shit that went down between us was the bad food in Bolivia!, thanks for the memories guys.

Murray 'Mad Max' Goss, you are just a bloody speed freak, never more than a few minutes behind us - you're a legend buddy.
Geraldine, thanks for the washing, ironing and the other pair of eyes.

Daryl & the team from Mount Maunganui Motorcycles, the big GSA was the perfect bike for me, thanks guys. (it fitted OK on the back of the chase truck. Rosco)

To Linda and my family - thanks for the leave of absence!
Cheers Ripper.


And from Tiny....
G'day everybody!
Been back a few days, sitting here gathering thoughts on what turned out to be an epic trip!
If asked to pick a highlight I couldn't - there were 40 days of highlights.
To start with, I suppose Rosco's Rocky Road High Andes Adventure means just that! - the roads, the tracks, the deserts, the river crossings, asphalt surfaces of racetrack quality, kilometre after kilometre of sweeping bends, leaning right
Coral CaveCoral CaveCoral Cave

Brian in the coral cave-Fish Island- Uyuni
over!..Deep sand across the Bolivian deserts, loose rocky technical sections, superfast hard packed gravel roads, bone jarring teeth rattling corrugated metal for what seemed like hundreds of kilometres - all handled on one's weapon of choice - mine a KTM 990 Adventurer shod with TKC80 Conti's.

I am a novice when it comes to cameras, but I still managed to squeeze off nearly 700 pictures - struggled like hell to capture the extraordinary magnificence of the areas we rode through'. I am looking forward to DVDs and videos from the rest of the crew when completed.

Adhering to Rosco's sound advice, soft luggage is the only way to go.

My gear comprised tank bag, Andystrapz (Australian firm) soft bag on rear, and camel pack with a 3 litre bladder. Riding gear was a TourX helmet (peak proved excellent with early and late sun), DryRider Rallycross pants and jacket (nice and cool in the heat but needed to layer-up in the cold - temps -3 through to 38+or so), Alpinestar Trials boots -rigid sole with rubber bottom - excellent for riding on pegs and walking around old ruins and the like.

Add to all of the above,
PerspectivePerspectivePerspective

Getting on top of the cerveza
a great group of guys - easygoing, laidback, sociable, and above all very capable riders -made this trip an absolute beauty!
So, thanks to Rosco, Gerardo and Geraldine for many wonderful memories.

Tiny.





Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Uyuni SalarUyuni Salar
Uyuni Salar

Salt crystals
La PazLa Paz
La Paz

Downpor in La Paz


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 17; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb