Kauri Forest


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Hokianga
January 16th 2013
Published: January 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

What a beautiful day, started by meeting some people from Seattle Tracy and Michael there were having a little problem with their mobile phone and I helped them out By getting it charged so that they could text their family. Sometimes you meet someone and you just make a connection immediately. They were both really nice and said I could go and stay with them any time in Seattle.

I left Baylys Beach and headed North, I have to say that the last two days have certainly put my driving skills and concentration to the test!! Spent some time in the Kauri Forest visiting the huge kauri trees that grow there, Tane Mahuta is the largest tree with a trunk girth of 13.8metres and 51.5metres high. The name means Tane the life giver and the tree is around two thousand years old. Quite amazing. After the walk back to the car guess what in the middle of nowhere, in the middle of the bush in a really remote area........The Burger Van.....Ha Ha. They get everywhere don't they!!!

Continued my journey north after a few miles arrived at the most beautiful Hokianga Harbour, I just had to stay here, I think it must be New Zealnds best kept secret totally unspoilt and utterly beautiful.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0912s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.4kb