Some Like It Hot


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Coromandel » Coromandel Town
October 8th 2010
Published: October 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello again everyone! I’m in Coromandel (the town) now, we spent the night before last in Whitinaga (pronounced ‘Fity-anga’) a small town in the eastern side of the Coromandel Peninsula. We went to the Hot Water Beach and dug a hole to soak in but found that the water was hot enough to boil a lobster so we had to find another place to dig a hole where it was slightly cooler.

Anika, Kerstine, and Lena all thought that my newly bleached hair (I’ll get some pictures up after we leave Coromandel because I only have 60MB transfer here) had no practical uses, but who sees me but Tim and Luisa who took their weekend off to relax at the beach and do the Cathedral Cove hike. The only reason they were able to recognize me was because of the fact that I had been in a picture on Facebook post bleach! Anyway, the beach was very nice though I did get a bit of a burn, and the Cathedral Cove had some great views.

Besides seeing Luisa and Tim here, we met up with the 2 girls from the Czech Republic in our very same hostel (Lion’s Den)! I guess travelers really do bump into one another on a fairly regular basis.

The drive across the peninsula was nerve racking, lots of mountains to drive over, narrow roads, and a bujillion blind corners on the up and downhill. Some nice views, but since there's almost no shoulder at the side of the road, I had no opportunities to pull over and take pictures.

The hostel here has a pretty funky African feel to it, we’re currently in the Zebra room though that may change soon. We plan on staying for another day before doing a trip to Colville for a hike or 2 before making our way toward Lake Taupo.

I’m about to sunscreen up and get back out there, see ya!

Advertisement



11th October 2010

So....the roads remind you of driving to and from Bamfield? I suppose the locals used those hot steam holes on the beach for cooking at one time.(before electricity and microwaves)It must be nice to bump into friends at the hostles and share stories and pictures!Has your car been running alright?The first few hundred miles usually give a good indication of how its going to run. I'm looking forward to the pic's from this hot water haven you have been to. Be safe down there and be cautious of warm beer! Stan

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb