WWOOFing


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Plenty » Katikati
January 6th 2011
Published: January 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I stayed with a family of four; James and Victoria with their two boys (aged two and five). James is English and Victoria a Kiwi but she lived in England for 15 years, where they met and decided to move out of London to a more peaceful lifestyle in New Zealand. They have a lovely open plan house, in a nice rural setting so there were some great views. I had a decent room with an en suite! There’s also a lodge which they rent out to guests who can then access the pool and gardens.

Most of the time I was doing various gardening jobs, which was pretty good with the sun shining for the majority of the week. They had a small vegetable patch, so we ate a few home-grown things, including strawberries (one of the nicest I’ve had!), lettuce, potatoes and one day James hunted a rabbit which we had for dinner.

It was a well needed break from Auckland. Most people had left for the South Island, so things were pretty slow and boring over Christmas. As I’m in a 2 bed flat, there isn’t much living space, and without a car, I was feeling a bit stranded in the city. It was great to live in a house for a bit and not have to think about cooking/food shopping!

I’m currently looking at moving to a bigger flat or house, but it’s such a hassle! The only good places are further out from the city so I’m weighing up the pros and cons..................................






Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



5th March 2011

Wicked
I like this account and your retrospective. Cool.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb