The Northern Isle


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
May 20th 2005
Published: June 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

AucklandAucklandAuckland

City Lights
After getting quite dissolutioned by the South Island I had one entire day to see the city of Auckland and note the differences between the North and South Islands. I hired a car for a day and drove around. The weather is probably the main difference, I had stripped off my jacket and two jumpers and was only down to two shirts and I was happy with that. There was definitely more Maori people around this city but unfortunately it seemed as though most of them were living in the poor parts of town. It is an interesting city and was good to see that it has both beaches and bays. But as night fell, I started to reflect on my New Zealand experience and on how the kiwis sell off everything for tourism. I had never visited a country with more pamphlets on things to do. In fact, so many they should have a pamphlet with a directory of pamphlets so you dont get completly lost in it. It was also quite apt to see the Auckland prostitutes walking the red light district and realised they have every arena covered.

Thank you New Zealand you showed me
AucklandAucklandAuckland

Sunrise over bay
how destructive tourism can be, and unless some lesson is gained its just as indulgent as any activity to fulfill your senses. Im also not really sure now whether the buyer is just as bad, if not worse than the seller, because I guess they would not sell if no one was there to buy.



Advertisement



30th June 2005

supply/ demand
it's all about supply and demand my dear! i could think of worse things to spend my money on than tourism! think in a positive way what business and jobs it supplies! if no tourism, maybe there would be more prostitutes, for lack of any other job! i see your point, but i disagree with you! hope you are okay wherever you are right now! lova ya! x eva
24th August 2005

Thank you
I'm not sure where you are from, I'm guessing England, but thank you for recognising and reflecting a view that is held by many NZers about our country being "sold off" to tourism. I have watched the slow but steady erosion of the tranquility and beauty of my home, Abel Tasman near Nelson. I wish it could be stopped but I fear it is much too late for that now. I'd love to have kept New Zealand a secret. I'm sure the same applies to many other parts of the world. I notice one of your friends visits Mexico and I have watched the same thing happen to the Mayan Riviera... peaceful fishing villages swallowed up by multi storey hotels and condos, and the locals pushed to the edges of town. Good luck with your travels.

Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 22; qc: 121; dbt: 0.1181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb