Dubai - Sydney - Auckland - flight


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
February 21st 2011
Published: February 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Our plane departed from Dubai on Saturday morning at about 10:15 and the 18 hour flight marathon began. We had some amazing seats though. We were on the Airbus A380 and we had seats 67b and 67c, remember that if you ever fly on one and you are taller than Geoff Capes. The leg room was ridiculous.

I felt a bit bad when I turned to the guy behind me and to the left (he had no seat in front of him) and said "Nice leg room mate" only to see a woman and what was possibly the biggest dude on the entire plane sitting behind Toby (my travel buddy while in New Zealand) staring at me as if he was going to kill me. I later found out he didn't, his name was Werner from Amsterdam and he was a good laugh.

I hadn't realised that the drinks on the plane were free, this comes from consistently flying EasyJet and Ryanair, where you have to pay for everything including going to toilet. So I basically got "stuck in". I had a few cans of budweiser thinking that it would help me sleep, but it didn't help. I seemed to get myself in to a state where I was actually internally fighting myself from not sleeping. I would doze off and then 2 minutes later, bang, wide awake again.

The connection in Sydney was sweet, we got off, got back on and was in Auckland in 3 hours. We met up with our mate Jonny who was on the same flight too and we headed over to our hotel on Hobson Street. After a quick shower, I got in touch with my friend Zoe and we met up for some drinks and some amazing food and then we headed to Mount Eden. Amazing views of the Auckland, and the sprawling area.

Auckland can be seen for as far as the eye can see from this vantage point and you can see at least 7 or 8 volcanoes that make up the terrain. Zoe then drove us around to a beach to get some ice cream, but I started to jetlag pass out and we had to go back to the hotel where I crashed till the next day.

Jetlag has really not been too bad, just get weird moments of super tiredness. More to come shortly....


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb