I'm in Cintril Auckland (with apologies to Kiwis for the pathetic attempt at "eccint" jokes....


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
February 1st 2007
Published: February 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi - it's "ilivin" thirty on Thursday morning here in central Auckland and literally and metaphorically the sun shines bright - except for the Villa getting beat by the Toon and James Milner scoring the opener. At least the new face Young is off the mark. Enough about Soccer (anyways - that's for softees - Ive become a rugby man here in the Land of the All Blacks).


I've been up the Sky Tower which gives one an excellent, panoramic, 360 degree view, of the City and its magnificent harbour. It's certainly the tallest structure in New Zealand though I suspect no longer the tallest in the Southern "Himisphere" as the lift operator told me - barely stifling her yawn when I told her I'd now "...been up the tallest structures in both hemispheres having also been up the CN Tower in Toronto..." actually I'm yawning myself just typing it in.

They offer a "Skyjump" which is a sort of genteel (gentile?) bungee jump but not nearly genteel enough for me.

I'm going to have a relaxed day just wandering around the City not too far from my (characterful even bohemian) hotel as I'm still tired from the early rise and long journey of yesterday. And I managed to get my laundry done as well. I've learnt that 2 nights in a place means little more than 1 day, 3 nights = 2 days etc so I'm going to savour this first full day in Auckland in the knowledge that I can take tomorrow easy as well if I so choose. I'll probably go on some sort of ferry ride around the harbour.

I'm now going to (try to) download a few photos.

Thanks for the comments, messages and emails - it really does add to the pleasure.

Take care all - g

PS - I'm off to Fiji very early on Saturday morning. Will think about that tomorrow.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Auckland Harbour from the Sky TowerAuckland Harbour from the Sky Tower
Auckland Harbour from the Sky Tower

I think this is looking East into the Pacific though I'm not yet sure. Because Auckland is on such a narrow isthmus(? - geographers please?))it's said that it's the only place in the world where you can catch a coast to coast tram.


2nd February 2007

Thanks for your hilp!
Auckland also looks beautiful too, and we are going there for 2 nights ( name of hotel please). I too will be giving the bingee jump a miss, as dingling on the end of a flimsy piece of elistic is not my idea of fun. I 'll keep trying with the photos. Enjoy Fiji and try not to wear too many hula skirts ( or is that Hiwaii?) Alan
4th February 2007

Hi, glad to see you are still having a great time. We are still enjoying your travel tales. Love the photos!!! Keep em coming! p.s. Pars are in last 8 of Scottish Cup. How mad is that? Partick Thistle next round. Cya later. Mike
5th February 2007

Sky Tower
You're a brave man to go to the top of the Sky Tower, Glenn. I not sure I could do it.

Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb