2nd day in Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Rangitoto
October 19th 2007
Published: October 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me in front of AucklandMe in front of AucklandMe in front of Auckland

Proof that I am in New Zealand :)
I got a solid 10+ hours of sleep last night and I felt amazing this morning! But now I am exhausted because Paul and I hicked about 5 hours today, straight just about to. My legs are incredibly sore and my feet hurt when I walk, but I will sleep well tonight. Paul and I took a ferry this morning to an Island called Rangitoto, which means Blood Red Sky in Maori. This is because the volcano that created the island erupted as recently as 600 years ago, and the Maori saw the eruption, it is assumed. I added some pictures so that you can see the beautiful island.
The trails were pretty rough in parts because there was lava rock all over the place, but once we got near the summit the trails were dirt and leaf covered. Beautiful torquoise (is that how you spell it?) water, and amazing views of mountain ranges in the distance. This might have been one of the most beautiful views I have ever had. That is a pretty strong statement to, because I have seen a lot of beautiful views.
We got back to the mainland around 4 and ate huge Asian dishes of
Auckland cityscapeAuckland cityscapeAuckland cityscape

Artsy shot of Auckland
food for about 8 NZ dollars, which is about 6 US dollars. Good times.
I'm back at the hostel now getting ready to take a shower and rest my legs some more, but tomorrow we leave Auckland and head south east to Thames, where we will stay for 2 days. I'm not sure if there is internet access, but there should be in the town after.

Daniel


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

MAGMA!MAGMA!
MAGMA!

Lava that has cooled. This gives you a good view of how rocky it was in some areas, and lush forest in others.
View from the topView from the top
View from the top

We hiked about an hour from the warf to the summit and got this amazing view!
Another view from the topAnother view from the top
Another view from the top

Look at the color of the water. Amazing.
PlantPlant
Plant

Cool plant the grew on trees to.


Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 80; dbt: 0.0914s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb