Music! + Waiheke


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Mount Eden
February 5th 2010
Published: April 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Musics galore! Went to the Big Day Out on the 19th, had such a good time. Work was crazy busy before, as everyone from the entire country comes up to Auckland and, obviously, need somewhere to stay. But the Day itself was gorgeous and sunny but not too hot, and Midnight Youth and The Decemberists were awesome, and Kasabian were prats. Muse was the headliners, and had a brilliant laser light show thingy, but as I don't really know most of their older songs I could only sing along to a few ("we will be . . . victoooorrrrrrioussss!").



Then, went to see Them Crooked Vultures! So good, but the Vector Arena was only 3/4 full maybe. It should have been packed to the rafters. They were so awesome, and actually about 50%!b(MISSING)etter live than the album.



Then (this is non-stop action!) we won tickets to the ACDC concert in Auckland! It was a completely random competition by the promotors, we had no idea it was even happening. It took so long for the tickets to get to us though, I didn't believe it wasn't a weird sort of con until I had them in my hand. But in the meantime, as I didn't want a week of hanging around the hostel with nothing to do I took myself off to Waiheke island for a bit of R&R.

The island itself is nice and cute (and rich) but the hostel? Graaaagh. Dirty, and terrible kitchen, and the owner/manager guy prides himself on being like a cool-music-dude but the same bloody album was on repeat for the five days I was there. But worse of all, they had bed bugs! I was completely covered in bites by the time I left, and I actually know for a fact that they didn't do anything about them or move people out of the room. So unfortunately, that's my lasting memory of Waiheke Island.

The tickets for ACDC did eventually turn up (should there be a / in the middle there? Like AC/DC? Or not?). It was in
Main Field at Big Day OutMain Field at Big Day OutMain Field at Big Day Out

That round thing is a mini-fun fair!
this absolutely huge open air place, and stage is massive. It was good, probably fantastic for a hard-core fan, but they just seemed so bored. At least Them Crooked Vultures seemed like they were having fun.

And that was the end of Auckland for a while.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

MuseMuse
Muse

Shiny!
Them Crooked VulturesThem Crooked Vultures
Them Crooked Vultures

Dave Grohl refused to do a drum solo!
Waiheke IslandWaiheke Island
Waiheke Island

The beach. Honestly, I can't remember which one


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb