I don't like heights...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
December 27th 2013
Published: January 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today we picked up another hire car and all of us made our way into Auckland for the day. Our first stop was Mount Eden where we had a great view of the Auckland Skyline. We made our way into the city and went to the Waterfront for Lunch where we met up with Fern again before going our separate ways. Rhys had booked to do the Auckland Bridge Bungee, but as you had to pay $20 each to spectate, only Jan and Den went along which was a shame as it would have been good to watch. I did think about doing the bridge walk, but wasn't too sure, I wanted to go up the Sky Tower as I'd toyed with the idea of doing the 360 walk (I don't know why as I hate heights) but thought we'd maybe take a walk there and see what the set up was. Carey said it would probably a good idea to just ring them and book it and before I knew it, Carey had thrust the phone in my hand that was ringing the Sky Tower booking line. Aaarrrgggh! So there it was-booked.

The Sky Tower stands at 328 meters tall making it the tallest free standing structure in the Southern Hemisphere, and the walk is up at 192 meters high on the 1.2 meter wide platform. Now all you have to do is walk around, but for someone like me who hates heights-it's a little bit daunting to say the least. We met our guide who was a fellow Brit, and got changed into our ever so sexy orange jumpsuits that made us look like we'd escaped from Death Row. I had to take all the Kirby grips out of my hair and remove all jewellery so that nothing was loose. We were then scanned for any other metal objects and breathalysed (I kind you not) at this point I quietly hoped that my glass of wine I'd had with lunch would tip me over the limit, preventing me from going up, but no such luck. We got into the elevator that had a part glass floor and made our way to the platform. I did feel a bit queasy looking down as the lift went up, it really was quite high. The doors opened at the observation deck so we could see how high we were, we then continued up to the walkway platform. At this point I did start to feel more nervous and was more aware of my pulse rate than I had been at the bottom.

We got all hooked up to the ropes and with the smallest of steps shuffled our way out onto the platform. As luck would have it there was only the 2 of us (Daryl and I) on this walk so we had plenty of time up there (I don't know if this was a good thing!) the first thing we had to do was quite simply to hold our arms out and walk-sounds very easy, and for someone like Daryl it was, but for me (did I say I don't like heights?) it took me a couple of seconds to compose myself. I wouldn't say I was terrified, and of course nothing can happen as you are attached to a rope, but with every gust of the breeze and slight glance down, my fear of heights had confirmed it was still there with me and wasn't going anywhere soon. For the hanging over the edge part, I could only look at my feet in the reflection in the windows and listen to Daryl telling me to keep shuffling. Eventually I managed to lean back and look down, but I didn't really want to hang around for long. (I hate heights) Next we had to lean forward which to me was worse, and I don't think I've ever held Daryls hand so tight. The walking backwards attempt was ridiculous-maybe that was worse than the ledge hang. After a while you did eventually get used to the height and it was a great way of seeing the sights of Auckland. Our guide told us that the Sky Tower was still only a fraction of the height of the Burj Khalifa in Dubai which made me think of mum and auntie Jan who'd visited there in October. That stands at 828 meters tall and takes 3 months to clean all the windows from start to finish- def not a job I'd be applying for. When we'd finished it didn't actually feel like we'd walked the whole way round. I was glad that I'd done it, but also glad it was over. Back at the bottom we had a good old giggle at the photos and the video in which the look of terror on my ever gurning face was all to apparent for all to see. We bought them anyway, as I'm us it will be funny to watch when we get home. As I said, the views really were stunning and it was something different to do. We went back up to the viewing platform to take some pictures and watch other crazy people do the sky jump which is most definitely not for me. The jump is from the same height as the platform walk, but it takes 11 seconds of free fall before you reach the ground.

We made our way back to the Quayside to meet the others who had had a wander around the city and Rhys who had done his bungee jump and loved it. Michelle hadn't managed to get to the Sky Tower and was a bit gutted as she'd thought about doing the walk/jump. I have a feeling this was an itch that wouldn't go unscratched for long- Shell unlike me loves anything like that. Jan was telling us about the super yacht that was docked in the harbour, it was huge - see link- and worth an absolute mint- it makes you wonder how people ever have that much money. My mum would love to have a nose around something like that. Back at Pukekohe we had food and Gareth and Michelle went to cinema to see the Hobbit. It was early bed tonight as the boys were up early to go fishing out on Careys boat, and after my exciting day, I was as ever ready for a snooze. ?



http://skywalk.co.nz/

http://www.3news.co.nz/360M-mega-yacht-arrives-in-Auckland/tabid/423/articleID/314342/Default.aspx


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb