The Eagle has landed...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Balmoral
October 3rd 2011
Published: October 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well I’m here!!

Two ten hour flights with only a 2 hour stop in the middle, it was a long journey and, as I’m sure you can understand, I am completely shattered and want my bed…but I can’t check in for another 2 hours so hence why you’re all getting this update!

As I write this its currently 10am Monday morning in Auckland, it’s windy and a bit drizzly outside, and my brain has no idea what’s going on! So I’ve only been here 2 hours yet I already have some New Zealand facts for y’all that personally I love,

1. People are not lying when they say the Kiwis are friendly! The passport control lady who had to check my visa etc was telling me that her friend owns a pub in Auckland and that she’ll give her my name and I should go in and see her this week about a job!
2. When you place your order in Starbucks you also need to give your name, as they don’t shout out drink orders, they shout out your name! Clever!!
3. They have a really weird tree here, which I need to get a photo of for you all, it looks like a half dead Christmas tree…I’ll try and get a photo later!
4. Their roads are half English half American. Meaning they drive on the ‘correct’ side of the road but all the signage is American style! Totally messes with your head!
5. They get to the point when naming stuff, they have a chain of shops simply called ‘Shop’ and a chain of food malls called ‘Nosh’. Nice and simple :o) They also have a taxi company called ‘reliable taxis’ you can’t really argue with that can you?
6. Their people road crossing things (pelican crossings?!) make the best noises I have ever heard a crossing make! They kind of whiz and ping at you when it’s time to cross!

Ok I think that’s enough fun facts for today, I’m trying to keep awake in Starbucks but I’m struggling! I hope everyone is well and I’ll get in touch with people properly when I’ve had a good sleep and I’ve sorted myself out contact wise…This might be later in the week, you have been warned!

Amy
x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb