Parlez-vous anglais?


Advertisement
New Caledonia's flag
Oceania » New Caledonia » South Province » Noumea
July 31st 2009
Published: August 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Noumea


Oui... un petit peu (yes... a little bit). Thank goodness!


31 JUL - Lagoon Safaris Sounds Like a Jungle Adventure

During our transit to NewCal (as I lovingly refer to it), I did a lot of research for myself and my guys on things to do and places to see. Not that any of them took advantage of it, but it was super helpful for me, since I stumbled across the 5 star PADI resort (Kuendu) and Lagoon Safaris (the dive shop at the resort). I began communicating with Annabella, the Australian shop owner about getting a group from the ship out to her shop. I made a spreadsheet (you know me, the engineer) and ended up with about 6-8 people everyday. It was really quite a distance for taxis to and from the ship everyday, but very close water-wise. I managed to get it cleared for the dive boat to come alongside the ship and pick people up in the mornings and drop them off afterwards. Talk about service!
Anyway, the shop was great and even though the weather wasn’t always totally cooperative (can you say chilly and rainy?), we dove some great sites and was never at a loss with the sea life. We dove these spots:

FRIDAY 7/31:
First dive: "Le spot des surfeurs."  
Second dive:  "Passe de Dumbea."  (Dumbea passage.)

SATURDAY 8/1:
First dive:  "Tepava"
Second dive:  "Seche croissant."

SUNDAY 8/2:
First dive: Humboldt
Second dive: American Seabee Dump

You can see more photos on the dive shop’s blog:
www.diving-in-new-caledonia.blogspot.com 

Bos’n Dave was even able to take a day off and come out with us. The last night I stayed there was somewhat bizarre, as the resort held a rave that lasted from about 9pm until about 8:30 the next morning. Yes, thank goodness I’m able to sleep through super loud techno and drunk people, I could have complained, but I didn’t.

Nancy, the Public Affairs Officer onboard for the mission, had decided to take the bungalow next to mine after she heard about my find and we rode out there together the first evening. During the day, she went to the spa and read books and just relaxed. As for me, with diving every day, I was fully occupied until 4pm everyday. Kyle came out to visit us the last afternoon we were there, after getting off work and it almost ended in disaster. He was supposed to work again from midnight to 0800 the next day, so we figured we’d enjoy the day at the resort and go into town for dinner, drop him off at the ship and catch a taxi back.
Remember, I’m the only one who speaks any French... guess who’s calling the taxi company? “Je voudrai une taxi.” I would like a taxi. “Ou?” Where? “La plage du Kuendu Resort, la recepcion.” The beach of Kuendu Resort, the reception. Okay, no problem, right? Well, two hours later (it’s 8pm at this point), still no taxi. WTF?!? How are we going to get Kyle back to the ship at the very least, forget dinner. This is the night of the rave, so we’re watching all kinds of interesting people walk by us, most of them drinking and walking in very little clothing (the girls anyway). Well, a group of 3 guys go past and give us the polite “bonsoir” and notice that we’ve been there forever. Is everything okay (they ask in French)? I immediately say no and try to explain to them what is going on to
Jay Took ThisJay Took ThisJay Took This

Good Closeup Man
see if they can call the taxi company to figure out what’s going on. One of the guys ends up being an angel and taking Kyle back to the ship. OMG, thanks so much! How can we ever thank you? (why did I have to say that?) Oh, you have to come have a few drinks with us.
Nancy and I look at each other, shrug our shoulders and of course say yes. Turns out these people live in some of the bungalows near the beach and we go back there to a bungalow full of people talking, drinking beer and wine, and pretty much warming up for the rave. Between them wanting to practice their English and me wanting to practice my French, it turned out well. We had a glass of wine each and they ended up feeding me a baguette with some type of lovely grilled sausage on it, yumm! Everyone was so nice and the age group was probably from 22 to 40. We tried to stay outside for most of the time, it looked like some questionable activities were going on inside and we wanted to plead ignorance if they were, in fact, taking anything illegal to “prepare” for the rave.

After our drinks and food, we graciously thanked them for everything and said it was time to retire. Of course, at this point, we know that sleeping isn’t going to come easy with the volume of techno reverbrating on my so-called tranquil bay. We leave anyway, I have to dive in the morning, need my rest. Sorry guys, of course it was lovely to meet you but I’m not going to the fête. Bonsoir et au revoir. So, despite falling asleep with relative ease, someone (I assume them) comes knocking on my door at 2am. Nope, not going to answer it... and I didn’t.

As payback to the hotel for not telling us about this rave, I checked out late and dirtied up their shower before leaving. Annabella said their service had started to decline, such a shame, it could be a truly epic spot with a few minor tweaks. I enjoyed myself anyway, that’s all that mattered. I think instead of relaxing on my 3 night trip, I ended up getting back to the ship more tired than when I started. Go figure!




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb