Diving in Yap


Advertisement
Micronesia's flag
Oceania » Micronesia
March 9th 2007
Published: March 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This again is going to be more of a photo journal until I have time to update the journal entry. Hopefully I will find the time. In the meanwhile I hope you enjoy the photos. The hotel I stayed at was Manta Ray Bay Hotel and I dove with Yap Divers, a dive shop attached to the hotel. The staff at both the hotel and the dive shop where amazing. Alex my dive buddy was the greatest and got me to do things I swore I would never ever try i.e. a twilight or night dive. If you are planning a trip to Yap, not that there are many options, but Manta Ray Bay in my mind is the best (althought I hear the other places are nice too).


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Manderin fish 1Manderin fish 1
Manderin fish 1

Manderine fish are small. Males are about 1.5 inches and females are about 1 inch long. They live in finger coral near shore and mate at night. They are rare and really amazing to watch!
Sea cucumberSea cucumber
Sea cucumber

I love these guys! They’re so ugly there cute! They remind me of an underwater Snuffleupagus (you know Big Bird’s Mammoth looking friend from Sesame Street). They are also really big 4 feet on average.
Cleaning StationCleaning Station
Cleaning Station

The manta's come here to this coral outcrop to get cleaned by the little fish
Swimmers on the surfaceSwimmers on the surface
Swimmers on the surface

The swimmers are about 65 feet above me. The clarity of the water in Yap is amazing! It is often crystal clear to 125 feet. You have to really watch your depth.
FinsFins
Fins

New to diving in currents I was often looking at my fins while Alex held on to me.


Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 84; dbt: 0.0765s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb