Marshall Islands


Background: After almost four decades under US administration as the easternmost part of the UN Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, the Marshall Islands attained independence in 1986 under a Compact of Free Association. Compensation claims continue as a result of US nuclear testing on some of the atolls between 1947 and 1962. The Marshall Islands hosts the US Army Kwajalein Atoll (USAKA) Reagan Missile Test Site, a key installation in the US missile defense network.

Blogs from Marshall Islands

Latest Blog Posts from Marshall Islands

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0352s; 44; m:apollo w:www (; sld: 2; ; mem: 6.2mb