What we did during the Chicago Blizzard of 2011


Advertisement
Guam's flag
Oceania » Guam
February 5th 2011
Published: February 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We watched the Blizzard unfold on-line and in the news while here on Guam. I hope our house is still standing when we get home. I secretly wished I was home to see it. Although I don't miss the clean-up afterwards or having power go out, I do love the "silent beauty and serenity" of big snowfall. Just for a little while it is like another more civil world--Soft, quiet, serene. There are no perceived differences among people. We are all in the same boat and don't think a thing of giving a helping hand. It does not matter what God you believe in, if any, or what your politics are, or if you are un-documented. We all exist in this beautiful, clean, peaceful world. Oh, that it could last for more than just a few hours.

Anyway, on the day of the big snow in Chicago, I am posting a few pictures of what we did that day. We spent the day at Ypao Beach which is on the Philippine Sea side of the island of Guam. The water is crystal clear and I just love the colors of the water. ENJOY!

P.S. Sorry if you can't view the video. I couldn't figure out how to delete it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



5th February 2011

Beautiful
What a beautiful place to be. You are going to miss that when you get back here. So enjoy and we will keep digging out here. 15 degrees right now. But sunny!! That helps !
6th February 2011

Beautiful!
Dear Budasis, I actually teared up when I saw the recent storms in IL because of the poor souls back there. Especially Merrilee's mom and Gretchen's mom - Jayne is 89 this month and Aunt Rita was 96 last month. Yikes! But it didn't seem to bother you two at all - ha ha! The beach looks magnificent - and so do you two. I have started listening to books on tape rather than reading hard copies. I download books from the library free and LOVE it. I can listen while I garden, do the laundry, empty the dishwasher, drive, etc. So I'm thinking how terrific it would be for you two tp be able to just gaze out at the view while you listen to a book without having to keep looking up and down!! Did I send you a copy of my Christmas letter? I was going to mail my usual "hard copy" but knew you were not in IL. I think I did e-mail it to you but cannot remember. Let me know if you did not get it. I also ended up with two e-mail addresses for you - again! - so please let me know the preferred one and I'll delete the other. Blessings, Lynne Buckie Baker profesora@socal.rr.com
7th February 2011

Blizzard Response
Hi Andrea, You are totally right. The blizzard puts everything in perspective. We forget about our perceived problems and just help people that need it. Sorry it does'nt last, but at least we see humanity still exists. The landscape is beautiful. The roads; however, were another story. Enjoy your sunshine. Hope everything is okay back at your house. Looking forward to your return.
21st July 2012

Hello, I have just spent the last month on Guam and Ypao Beach is one of my favorite spots my husband and I regularly go out and snorkel around 5:00 and stay until the sun sets which of course is always spectacular. I also like to snorkel at Ritidian Point at the Wildlife Refuge. Today I am off to climb Mount Lam Lam...a bit ambitious, but it is my last weekend here and I want to do something memorable. I enjoyed your pics and can completely identify with you.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb