On a rainy day in Nuku Hiva, we take the Mariner Tour of Trees


Advertisement
French Polynesia's flag
Oceania » French Polynesia » Nuku Hiva
December 14th 2007
Published: April 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Nuku Hiva is not everyone’s cup of tea. If you’re looking for pristine beaches and shopping opportunities, this island isn’t for you. But, for pure wildness and sense of place, Nuku Hiva tops my list. Horses run free on grassy mountain slopes that overlook an island blessedly free from resort development.

On this trip to French Polynesia’s northernmost island, Regent has arranged a Mini-Festival of Arts as a complimentary event for all passengers. It simulates the Marquesas Festival of Arts, a celebration of culture and traditions that takes place once every four years.

Rain obliterates my view of the harbor when I peak out the window this morning although I can see the small yachts and sailing ships anchored close-by. Hoping for the best, Alan and I prepare to take the tender to shore. But the rain continues to pour and since we’ve been here before, we change our minds and stay onboard.

So, what do you do on a rainy day in Nuku Hiva? Since Papeete, Christmas decorations have appeared around the ship as if Santa Claus snapped his fingers and said, “Let there be Christmas.” So, I lead Alan on a Voyager Tour of Trees. And the best part? We didn’t have to untangle the lights or spend hours putting decorations in just the right spot.

By afternoon, the rain has stopped. We stand on deck and watch, as the tenders are loaded back onto the ship. A mechanical problem loading one of the tenders results in a 2-hour delay. With rough seas predicted to slow our progress as the ship crosses the Pacific, the Captain announces that our arrival in Los Angeles will be delayed by several hours.

Now, passengers hassle with changing air arrangements on one of the busiest travel weekends of the year - the Saturday before Christmas. But, the travel worries are soothed by seven days of fun, food and entertainment as we cross the blue Pacific.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



13th April 2008

Yeah...you're writing again!
Love all those Christmas trees and you two look good too. I've been wondering if there would be another blog. I love the way you write. Keep it up.
13th April 2008

Thanks anonymous, Actually, I'm way behind on the blog. Two more entires to finish this trip, then I'll be working on two entries left from our Norway cruise. Also need to add Kauai, Santa Fe and Solvang from 2007 plus Vicksburg, MS from 2008. I think I have my work cut out for me. Thanks for the complement, it keeps me writing!

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb