Being the Divemaster...


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Yasawa Islands
March 1st 2012
Published: March 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

...allegedly has its perks. Or so I've found out today....

One of the girls in our dorm is so enamoured with her divemaster on a different island she looks like she'll burst into tears at any minute. She's spent all day in the dorm feeling ill and sorry for herself.

Another - also in our dorm - has apparently been enjoying some night time entertainment with our resort's very own divemaster for the last week. My friend who I travelled with in Thailand stayed far longer in Asia than she had planned as a result of also falling for her very own Divemaster. Divemastering is clearly where it's at in terms of getting the girls - let that be a lesson to all those thinking of either a new career move or starting internet dating. Success ratio as a divemaster is proven. I would consider it as my own next career move in terms of securing the guys were it not for the pigging asssssssthmaaaaaaaah...

Anyway, today's another tough day. Snorkelling. Swimming. Sunbathing. That is all. I learned how to make a traditional Fijian bracelet with the charasmatic Teresia from the village, whilst lounging around and taking life easy. It took me 3 hours to finish my bracelet. That's Fiji time for you...

We had a crab race in the evening that I wasn't as lucky at as the Survivor game the night before. Picked some of the beach crabs and yet sadly failed to win the bar tabs on offer for the victors. Misery. Still, you can't win them all...

I can't say too much more happened other than the mother of all laughs in our dorm tonight. Just me and my two new Swiss friends in our dorm, laughing about being a Divemaster. One of them, Lucas, insists he's the Drivemaster, as he teaches driving and motorcycling back home. He's like the Divemaster understudy. He dives and has grand ambitions of getting the girls once he's fully qualified, and no doubt he will. Our little 'in-joke' had us laughing for hours - one of those that you had to be there for no doubt but I felt the need to share. Not just for the story but for the fact you can make such great friends so quickly. For the three of us have quickly become like the 3 amigos and that's fabulous. It makes paradise all the more beautiful and it's making the trip here beyond brilliant. Peace and tranquility of snorkelling in the day, and the mother of all giggles in the evening. All set in the most stunning surroundings. Free of responsibility and free of worry. Does it get better than this? I doubt it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb