Farewell NZ, Bula Fiji!


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Yasawa Islands » Naviti Island
May 13th 2009
Published: May 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It seems a long time ago now, but back in Wellington I was looked after brilliantly (again) by Janina and her housemates. There wasn't much sightseeing this time, I mainly made plans and bookings for the US, which took up quite alot of my time. There was a party though at the house, for Sharon's birthday, and I took in another play at the tiny Bats Theatre - a modern adaptation of Hedda Gabler, not bad. One of the highlights of Wellington for me was the fact it is teeming with culture of all sorts. If I was to live in New Zealand (don't panic yet, parents!), I think Wellington would be the place for me. Although the climate is not the best there; it did live up to its windy reputation.
The next stop was an odd decision - just to break up the long drive to Auckland, I stopped at a place called Turangi - really nothing to recommend it - I had thought, wrongly, that it would be a nice town on a lake - but in fact it was miles from the lake and pretty unappealing. Although the hostel was comfortable and I did find a nice
Janina and meJanina and meJanina and me

Out on the town at her favourite haunt.
half-day walk to do.
Then it was back to Auckland for a couple of days - I had a lovely lunch with my friends Sarah and Andrew (old-timers from Coro) and their gorgeous 2 year old, Charlotte. Also did some successful shopping in a 2nd hand bookshop - ideal timing, just before a week of reclining in Fiji.
The flight was painless - and the food was possibly the best airline meal I've had. I stayed for the first 2 nights on the mainland, a place called Newtown just outside of Nadi (pronounced Nandi). A lovely hostel, more like a hotel, with fantastic food (not to sound obsessed) and no bunk beds!
It was good to get out onto the islands though - really the most beautiful beaches I've seen (and I've seen alot). Most of my time was spent in hammocks or on sun-loungers (it was important to top up the tan after the last Autumnal month in New Zealand you see), but I did fit in a trip to a Fijian village, learned how to weave a bracelet and tried the infamous Kava. Didn't do much for me I have to say, and tastes like soluble aspirin.
Fijians have a reputation for being warm and friendly, and thats certainly true. Music plays a big part too - they welcome everyone onto the island with a song, and in the evenings I witnessed a couple of interpretations of the Bula dance - a very infectious song, which has stuck relentlessly in my head.
I was obviously in the more backpackery places (I even ran into a couple of different people I'd met in Australia) - I wouldn't mind going back some time to see a different side, and perhaps make more of an effort to see real Fiji. I did have an opportunity to go to church on Sunday morning, but I'm ashamed to say I stayed on the sunlounger...other memories of the place include cold showers (bliss, actually, when the weather is so warm), and lots of papaya and pineapple.
The flight to LA was painless - I even managed to sleep a bit, which is unheard of for me. It has literally been the longest day of my life, given the flight was at 10pm on Tuesday, and at that point it was suggested we reset our watches back to 3am the same day.
I am now in Santa Monica, where I'll be based for just under a week - tomorrow I'm checking out Malibu. I have been told to "have a nice day" 3 times already.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

View from a hammockView from a hammock
View from a hammock

On Kuata Island


13th May 2009

Wellington
What do you mean "don't panic .......yet"!!! love from us both

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb