Pa's Cross Island Hike


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
July 6th 2011
Published: July 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post


Pa's Cross Island Hike

Today is going to be a big day! Hiking across the island through the mountain trails. I am nervous not knowing what to expect.

Pa and his driver pick me up at the guesthouse and the driver is a Kiwi and rather normal in appearance however Pa's is an interesting man. He is native and a herbalists. He runs his own hospital specializing in cancerous tumors. States he has only had one fatality in all of his patients. He uses plants for the most part but swears in the healing power of Vicks vapor rub and lozenges. He is very religious and as most natives he is very respectful of nature. He points out medical plants as we hike. He prays, to the gods for a safe hike and he talks to nature as if they are living. There was this really large tree he calls the Grandmother tree and he thanks her for sharing her fruit. And said to the tree, I will see you tomorrow Grandmother. He brought with him a herbal mosquito repellent. He fed us mandarin oranges and Papayas from his own trees, along with bananas and star fruit during our breaks while hiking. He fed us fresh subs at the end with organic veggies and choice of chicken or tuna. He prayed over our food. A very friendly and sharing man as he shared the fruit with others along the trail that was not part of out group. When he dropped me off after the hike he called me a champion and said a pray that I would have a safe trip. A very odd but likeable man.

The hike itself was a torturous narrow, muddy, tree roots covered paths that were slippery steep. Most of the time you had to climb holding onto the roots of plants. Going downhill there were many times that you had to hold on to the roots and climb down backwards. Crossing the stream several times landed me in the water a couple of times. My hiking boots were just not working in this environment so on the way down after the second dunking I changed to my vibram 5 toe trek shoes that gripped a little better but it was still slippery and the hard angular rocks and tree roots were tripping me up and stubbing my toes. But I made
The flora trailThe flora trailThe flora trail

Too busy climbing and trying not to go over in the treacherous mountain climbs.
it up to the peak and to the base of the needle. The needle also has a ancient face carved into it. Only 14 people have every climbed the needle and I was glad just to make it to the base. At one point I was following someone they took the wrong path and I just followed behind but we discovered that we should be up on a trail about 30 feet above us so we blazed our own trail on a very steep hillside. We were still ahead of some of the others.

The trail ended at the Wigmores waterfall with a swimming hole at the base. The water was very cool and refreshing after a long hike.

I forgot to tell you the Pa started his talk about the hike stating that 41 people had heart attacks climbing this cross island hike!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

THE END!THE END!
THE END!

I wasn't the only one shaking off the trek, the Kiwi taking this was shaky too!


8th August 2011

Great photos
Looks like you are having a fantastic time down under. I haven't, until until now, had time to read all your blogs being on vacation myself. The photos are telling and help narrate the story of your adventure. Thanks for sharing.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb