When it rains, it pours....


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
June 7th 2009
Published: June 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I made it to the Cook Islands and had a day and a half of the hottest and most humid weather of my life. The island of Rarotonga is a tropical paradise island only a quarter the size of Niue, but with 15000 people. After that glorious day and a half however, the weather turned to stink. 4 days straight of nonstop downpour, and no glimmer of the sun. I still rented a scooter and drove around the island, which took 40 minutes, but the things to do are severely low when the weather is so terrible. It was my first time driving a scooter and when you add the torrential rain, it made for a neat memory. After the first time that is. Every other time that I had to go to get food was usually a hassle and not a comfortable experience. It just goes down as an "oh well" week.

The clearest the sky ever got was last night when I was catching my plane to LA. Not a cloud in the sky. I'm sure today is a glorious day there. And I am sitting in the LA airport waiting to fly home. Ah well....

There are no pictures with this entry mainly because I didn't really take any. My advice would be to google it if you want to see it. Rarotonga is a paradise for sure, but I didn't get much of a chance to experience it.

This is the end of another trip, and I am once again thrilled with what I saw, the things I did and the people I met. I have plans for where and when I want to go next. I still can't stop. Thanks for tagging along if you have been on the journey with me. I am excited to get home, although briefly. 6 days at home and then I am on a plane to Inuvik for 4 months or so of work in the Arctic. Wherever I lay my head is home....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb