Byron Inland


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
December 17th 2008
Published: December 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, last weekend was fun. M.'s dad's best friend lives close to Byron Bay in a little town or area called Midgenbill. They not only have a nice house but the most beautiful garden I've ever seen. They've planted about a million plants including lemonade fruit (looks just like a lemon but tastes like sweet lemonade) and a very intresting berry that will cover your tongue with a sweet layer so that everything you eat tastes absolutely sweet and wonderful (just imagine being able to eat pure garlic and wasabi).
The Landscape just behind Byron, close to Mt Warning, is quite beautiful and we did some short hikes through the rainforest. Mt Warning was originally called Wollumbin by the Australian natives (before Captain Cook came along) and tells a cute story about a turkey trying to fly away from a predator and being hit by a spear. Being hit in the brain, the turkey had to land on a mountain and die there. That's how Mt Warning came to its turkey-like shape and it's also the reason why nowadays turkeys can't fly long distances anymore.

Another highlight was Nimbin, a small Hippie-town near Byron Bay where everything revolves around marijuana. Literally every single person we saw was smoking weed, they have a little hemp museum, hemp clothing, all sorts of 'Happy-Herb' shops and unfortunately many drug addicts. Even the local Nimbin newspaper was writing about weed and the local fishing club had a sign made up by a fish jumping out of the water in front of a weed plant. (M. took pictures of Nimbin and I don't have them yet so just use your imagination.)

There's not much to tell; you'd have to see it yourself!
The Mt Warning area is definitely a beautiful spot.

More news:
Today's my final day of work and even though it wasn't the most interesting work it was a great experience. People have been giving me presents all day and saying nice things + wishing me the best of luck. They're all very very cute and I think I'm gonna miss working with them.

M. and I are going up to Cairns on our roadtrip this Saturday. We've done all the shopping, now all we have to do is pick up the Campervan and head off. I'm excited and I'll probably have some stories to tell + pictures to upload!

Cheers, L.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

GardenGarden
Garden

Lemonade fruit
GardenGarden
Garden

Giant bamboo and M.


19th December 2008

Done with work? Must be nice. I'm starting again at Starbucks on Monday in Dundarave. It's the only company that I am willing to fuck over this bad. I need money, even one pay cheque would do. So, I'll work for two weeks, and head off to India. SUCKERS! I hate Starbucks. Soon, I will be off on my adventure. I hope you'll have time to take a look at my blog while you're still down under. I might be planning a trip to Cuba next year, so if you have the money, you should come and party with us!! That's, of course, if I have the money too. Miss you, Fabrizio!
2nd January 2009

Hmmm, Starbucks!
That doesn't sound like fun... so when are you heading off to India? I arrived in Cairns and I'm looking for a job as well, something quick and easy for a few weeks. See you in Cuba, Yours truly, Fab.

Tot: 0.903s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb