Safely in Perth


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
July 11th 2009
Published: July 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So here I am... finally! After nearly 48 hours of travel I made it to Australia!



I still can't believe I am here. I think once the sun comes up and I can see the country it might sink in. I arrived last night and was picked up by Rowan at 6pm after two long flights and a nine hour layover in Auckland. (I know Rowan from Glenfield Rugby Club and I'm staying with him and his uncle for the time being) It was better than it sounds since I slept a majority of the time on the planes and I got to catch up with some old friends in NZ. I can't believe its been almost 2.5 years since I'd seen any of them.

Fee, Ash, and Tay picked me up from the Auckland Airport at 6:30am; the boys had been up since 5am and were still wired. We went to their new house, which was about 200m from the beach; Amazing!! We took a short walk to the beach even though it was raining and windy, but I had to at least stop by since we were so close. Of course, even though it was cold, the boys ended up wet. Haha. (I lived and worked with Fee when I was in NZ and Ashton,11, and Taylor, 8, are her boys; she also has another one Matt, 18, which I saw breifly)

After the morning dip in the ocean, we met Joey, Tash, Rhi and her family for lunch in Albany (more work friends). It was really good to see eveyone and catch up! Maybe, the only time I'm glad I had a long layover.

Right now it's 6am and I'm catching up on everything. I would've been up 5 hours ago but I forced myself to go back to sleep. Maybe I slept too much on the plane; is that possible? Not sure what today will hold but I was told that Sunday is the big night to go out here, so I'm getting excited.

I'm missing everyone, even though, like I said, it doesn't even feel like I've left.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

After lunchAfter lunch
After lunch

Tash, Me, Fee, Taylor, and Ashton


12th July 2009

Hi N Bye From NZ
It Was Awesome To Catch Up....... Tay Fell Asleep 5 Mins Away From Home And Then Woke As Soon As The Car Stopped They Were Awake All Day I Had A Nana Nap from 3-6 Went Out For Dina And Then Straight Asleep Again HA HA
13th July 2009

Safely in Perth
Hey Lish, Great to catch up on your blog! I've added my name to your blog distribution list, so I won't miss your updates. Fee and the boys looked great. Look forward to your next message. Take care, Dad
13th July 2009

Hi Lish
So glad I get to read about what's goin on. Miss you AGAIN!
15th July 2009

Great to hear from you.
Hello, It was great to hear that you made it there safely. Have fun during your stay.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb