Perth, WA


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
August 13th 2007
Published: August 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Perth SkylinePerth SkylinePerth Skyline

The view from up on King's Park overlooking the city.
My excursion to Perth, WA, has been a little different from the time I experienced in Thailand. It is mid winter here where temperatures reach a respectable 18 degrees but clear skies mean night time temperatures drop to near freezing some nights. I have been staying with my family on farmland in the hills surrounding Perth. They have a large plot of land on which a calf has been born since I have arrived here. That was quite an event to witness, one which will remain with me for a while I imagine. I went hunting one night in the bush with my cousin and his friends. Armed with a spot light and rifles on the back of a ute (Australian word for truck), we scowerd the land for rabbits (and Kangeroos) but came away empty handed. I am assured thats not normally the case!

I have been to the Perth Mint with my Auntie, a place where they formed gold bullion in front of us and explained how the gold rush in Kalgoorlie took hold of Western Australia. This was closely followed by a trip to Scarborough with my cousin to try some body boarding. The waves were a
The FarmhouseThe FarmhouseThe Farmhouse

A view of the family house I was put up in.
little too big for a timid Brit tho! I didnt last long. Ollie took me for my first 'Aussie Burger' at Hungry Jacks where they basicaly fill a bap with everything. I felt that was deserved after the bording attempt. The coastline around Perth is beautiful and its a shame more time isn't available to properly expolre.

I have been heavily roped into learning the rules of Aussie rules footy and made to watch several games including the local footy team at Gidgeganuup for whom my cousins play for. A trip to Freemanlte prison toady on the reliable but slow transperth trainline was of interest. I learnt about the colonial heritage of the prison and about several escape attempts, useful for if I ever got lost on the tour.

I am off to Perth zoo tomorrow with my cousin and his friends who have kindly got a day off work to spend time with the pome. It won't be long now before I am reunited with Mark and Hazh. I feel ready to tackle the East coast after a relatively relaxing but eventful time here in Gidgeganuup.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The calfThe calf
The calf

Me and my baby.
Aussie FootyAussie Footy
Aussie Footy

A game they play here. Everyone is big on this, I am still not sure what the fuss is all about.
The CousinsThe Cousins
The Cousins

Sandy and I overlooking Perth from the South bank of the River Swan.
Freemantle PrisonFreemantle Prison
Freemantle Prison

The English bad boys were locked up here.
Scarborough CoastScarborough Coast
Scarborough Coast

Untouched sandy beaches. They carry on for miles apparently..


Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb