Middle of nowhere...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Pemberton
July 29th 2009
Published: August 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Gloucester tree walkGloucester tree walkGloucester tree walk

local wildlife
Hey gang! Just a quickie to get you up to speed.

After a sad goodbye to Madonna, I headed to Geelong - where I started this whole thing - and caught up with Kate and Lou, friends of Tiss'. We had a good weekend, out for drinks and relaxing on the sofa. On Monday I visited the old haunts in Torquay. On Tuesday I visited the Trosky's (Tiss' family). And then on Wednesday I flew to Perth...

And stayed for a day! I had planned to find care work but needed to do get a job while that was getting sorted but there was nothing at all, not even working for accomodation. Unfortunately, i've got to watch the pennies these days so I ended up getting a bar job outside of Perth through an agency. When I say outside, I mean 6hrs bus ride away! I'm working in a very little town called Pemberton in a hotel bar. Its a very 'local' place but i've been here a week now and its actually a nice place and is well known for its wine. Everyone knows everyone (and their business) and are very friendly.

Im doing a 40hr week with wages and I get free accomodation upstairs and all my meals included so its a really convenient deal for backpackers. There's not much to do in Pemberton, but Im in walking distance of wineries and surrounded by countryside so its not all bad.

On my days off so far I went for a walk to Gloucester forest and climbed the Gloucester tree to check out the view and then propped up the bar! Was really nice day. And this week I went to the next town Manjimup (actual place i swear) for some shopping before going to Jarrah Jacks, which is the local brewery and next to a vineyard so sampled a few treats. Area is best for Chardonnays and Pinot Noirs - very nice! Mark, one of my managers also took me to his uncles apple farm so got to see all the backpackers hard at work ha ha!

Its winter at the moment but its more like England's autumn, sun and rain but not too cold except at night really, and when the suns out its in the 20's.

Im going to be based here for a few months and hopefully get to see the local attractions on my days off. A few hours away is Margaret river wine region, some sand dunes, south coast beaches and lots of national parks so should be plenty to do if I get my act together!

Sorry for the lack of photos, just goes to show there's little of interest to photograph here!

love to you all x


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Gloucester tree walkGloucester tree walk
Gloucester tree walk

gloucester tree climb
Gloucester tree walkGloucester tree walk
Gloucester tree walk

view at the top
Gloucester tree walkGloucester tree walk
Gloucester tree walk

roo's amongst the grapevines
Pemberton HotelPemberton Hotel
Pemberton Hotel

where i live and work!


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0787s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb