Spiders and their babies


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » New Norcia
April 20th 2011
Published: May 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Oh man, I can't even tell you how freaky it is to see a BIG spider looking at you!!! Well, this happened to me one night in the staff "cottage". I was getting up from my chair when I noticed the big SPIDER looking at me with it's beady little eyes. Anne decided the best thing to do is Raid the bugger. So as she sprayed raid on it all these little black things started coming off of it. We thought the spider might be dead but then it started to move and ran into the hallway. All three of were freaking out by this point. We went into the hallway but couldn't find it. We have a big inflatable crocodile in the hallway for the pool as I lifted it as Anne was ready to spray and there was the big spider but it wasn't alone....there was ANOTHER one!!! AHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!

So she sprayed both of them and even more little black things came running off the spider. Then it clicked in my head that those weren't ants....they were BABIES!!!!!! SO not cool. We have a stick in the cottage that has been deemed the "whacking" stick and whacked both spiders until they were dead as it seemed to take ages for the raid to kill them. Oh man so not cool.

I jumped on my laptop after that to research this whole spider and babies thing to discover they are wolf spiders. They carry their babies on their back for the first 3 months. I'm pretty sure I cried because I was so freaked out while reading all the information on them. I am however much better at dealing with spiders since i've been in Australia. Maybe it's helped get me over my fear a little bit. Enjoy the pictures hahaha


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb